We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new year go to place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saybrook Point Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our new year go to place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We are here right now. This is the most inviting, warm and comfortable hotel and spa we have satyed at in Connecticut. All of the staff is exceptionally accomodating and welvoming. The rooms are beautifullt appointed. The restaurant is terrific. The whole place is immaculate. We will be coming back in april. The only thing that I would suggest is to update the pool area. Love, love, love this Inn

Room Tip: Room 328 is just stunning. The views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for such kind remarks. We do have the indoor pool area on our schedule to be completely redone. It is a bit of time before we begin.

Andy Abels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    96
    33
    23
    14
See reviews for
83
224
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a three day stay at the hotel & spa. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The spa is pretty good, with the exception that 'add-ons' will be included in your main treatment time allotment (such as reflexology or cranial massage). However, you will still pay full price for additional service.

The bar is excellent. The food, however, was very disappointing. Especially the Christmas brunch buffet. No oysters, clams, mussels or lobster. Only two carving stations (beef and lamb), both meats were overcooked. About 12 covered dishes. No omelette station. No bagels. Hardly any bread and cheese selection. No fruit salad, yogurt or cereal (hot/cold). Few dessert choices. And the drinks were NOT included. Basically I can't believe they had the nerve to charge their guests that much money for what they provided. In fact, my husband and I agree it was probably one of the worst buffets for the price we have ever had. Oddly, even the Mother's Day brunch my husband and I gave our guests after our wedding weekend at the Madison Hotel in NJ blew this one away. We paid $47/per head and the buffet was about 8 times the size of this one with a full array food (including all types of seafood).

Major disappointment. Especially after forking over $2K+ for a 3-day stay.

Room Tip: We had a water view during the winter and it was quiet. However, I'm guessing the boat traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Wow, I'm sorry you were unhappy especially on what is likely a very special day for you. We don't offer some of the items you mentioned because it is a dinner not a brunch.

I think your points about having the shellfish items are well taken. I promise we will take another look at what we offer for the future. Andy Abels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Went here first for a bachelorette party, and had such a good time I returned a few months later with some girlfriends. The inn is beautiful, the restaurant has great good, and the spa treatments were exceptional. There is also a lot to do in addition to visiting the spa - indoor and outdoor pools, steam room, sauna, beautiful running trails...it's a really wonderful getaway and I would recommend it for couples, friends and really anyone just looking for a relaxing, affordable and very nice weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

For more than a decade I have visited the Saybrook Point Inn & Spa as an overnight guest,
day-spa guest and/or dining for brunch, lunch or dinner.

What's so wonderful is the consistency of quality service from a well-trained staff. The harbor atmosphere is enchanting in all seasons. . . a change of pace during winter, the brightness of warmer days in spring, the absolute freedom of summer and the coolness of fall. A true gem
that always extends a warm welcome as you enter their realm.

Room Tip: Water views are often preferred, however the well appointed guest rooms,wherever located, provide gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It is pretty special knowing you well too! Thanks for being such a loyal friend and fan of the hotel and Fresh Salt. Andy Abels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our way back to Boston from New York. We booked the Travelzoo special which included breakfast at the on-site Fresh Salt restaurant in the morning. This place is amazingly beautiful and feels luxurious from the start as attendants are helpful with checking in and bringing our bags up. We opted for an oceanview room which was WELL worth it as the view was charming with the lighthouse in the foreground. Even at night, we didn't want to shut the curtains because the lights reflecting off the water was just so romantic. My one issue with the room was that the TV was not directly in front of the bed, so we had to turn our necks to watch, but everything else was great. The indoor pool/hot tub area were quite nice as well and there was an outdoor pool which I'm sure is great in the summer. If we get another chance, we'll absolutely come back here!

Room Tip: As many other have said, spring for an oceanview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here for a business meeting. The facility is so nicely decorated with many interesting furniture pieces, so homey with Christmas decorations. Food at the Salt restaurant was delicious. The room had lovely appointments, a balcony and gas fireplace. Hope to come back for fun and try the spa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you and we hope to see you soon. During the winter we often have special packages that you may enjoy. Every Sunday is called Sanno Sundays because we offer 20% off room rates for spa goers. It offers great value for spa enthusiasts. Andy Abels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton,NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights/4 days,celebrating my birthday, at the Inn and had to write this. But I have to say, what made it most special was from the start-when I called,post Sandy (hurricane),Tara in reservations was WONDERFUL.Tara made our stay the BEST- she made sure our trip,and my birthday- were amazing.Her helpful,thoughtful manner and the attention to detail were so appreciated. Lori/Front Desk-thank you also! We vacation in Cape Cod every year, and I'm ashamed to say, we have always tried to and drive as quickly as possible through CT.-not anymore! We can't wait to return-I was so sad leaving today-honestly,everyone working there is so pleasant,helpful,outgoing;there's such a positive attitude there, it's amazing and refreshing. The restaurant,Fresh Salt,was also wonderful-we ate there 2 of the 3 nights-seriously, we didn't want to leave this wonderful resort! We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: had a room with a water view-BEAUTIFUL!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyabels, General Manager at Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you, it is so satisfying to hear it when people are so pleased. Thank you for taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saybrook Point Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saybrook Point Inn & Spa

Address: 2 Bridge St., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is a AAA Four Diamond Southern Connecticut hotel, recently designated as a green hotel. We offer gracious accommodations, Four Diamond dining, a luxurious spa, and a gorgeous shoreline view. Enjoy classic intimacy in elegant rooms featuring balconies, water views and glowing fireplaces. We are a pet friendly hotel.Amenities include a luxurious spa, our health club offering indoor and outdoor pools, modern fitness equipment, sun decks, sauna and exercise classes. Our marina can accommodate vessels up to 200 feet and offers a floating gas dock and expert staff. We also have onsite dining at Fresh Salt Restaurant, offering exquisite service and waterfront ambiance. We offer meeting rooms and space, planning and catering for events.Saybrook Point Inn & Spa is conveniently located only two hours from New York City and one hour from Bradley International Airport. Our inn is at the mouth of the Connecticut River, with panoramic views of Long Island Sound, and only steps from the heart of historic Old Saybrook and a colorful host of antique shops, theatres, brand name outlets and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Saybrook Point Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saybrook Point Hotel Old Saybrook
Saybrook Point Inn And Spa
Old Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Old
Saybrook Inn
Saybrook Point Inn Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saybrook Point Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.