We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liv's Oyster Bar

Liv's Oyster Bar
166 Main St, Unit 4, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2386
+1 860-395-5577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Liv's is the brainchild of John Brescio. He is a French Culinary Institute-trained chef who worked at Tavern on the Green and Judson Grill in New York as well as Aux Delices in Greenwich. Liv's is names for the Brescio's young daughter Olivia, a photogenic tyke whose black and white blowups grace the walls. 'The combination of easy comfort and really good food makes Liv's Oyster Bar in Old Saybrook such a find' - The NY Times.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved Liv's Oyster var and would return. Quiant and cosy in a great older building in downtown old saybrook. The tuna pizza was delicious

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    38
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have never been disappointed at Liv's. Pleasant atmosphere. Fish is fresh and prepared well. A little pricey, but we like it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small portions for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We thought the presentation was good .The portion size was small.The food was not exceptional either.When you pay a decent price,you should get a full size portion.We will not go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Liv's Oyster Bar, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If you could email me (robert.livs@gmail.com) with more specifics on what you ordered the evening you dined with us, it would be greatly appreciated. We always take into consideration portion size, price and quality when developing our menus. We would love to have you try our restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love Liv's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Liv's is a great spot right in the center of Old Saybrook! The seasoned fries are great with wine or cocktails at the bar. Waiters/Waitresses have always been super friendly and do their job very well. Great place for drinks or dinner in O.S. Easy to make reservations on Open Table too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Fresh Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Fresh oysters, best on the shoreline. Beet Salad is something you can't find anywhere!! We will continue to return to try new dishes! Servers were all pleasant, Melissa a favorite!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liv's Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Liv's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liv's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.