We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy restaurant; reservations recommended after 6 p.m.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luigi's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Luigi's Restaurant
1295 Boston Post Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-4427
860-388-9190
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 72 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant; reservations recommended after 6 p.m.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I brought our two grandsons to Luigi's for pizza on a Friday night. We arrived around 5:30 and were seated right away. The pizza was excellent, as was the service. On a Saturday night, we made reservations and were glad we did. The lobby was full of people waiting to be seated. I ordered shrimp scampi, which was delicious. Other family members had spaghetti and found the sauce to be bland with little taste. Other than that, the service was excellent, and we will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Secaucus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went on a Saturday night with some friends and were treated to wonderful meal served by a friendly and effecient staff. The food arrived quickly and was well prepared and tasty. I will be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

food is good, staff is nice. Love this place, kids do too, but Tiberios in old saybrook is still one of my favorite italian restaurants. I reccomend Luigi's though love it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, CT
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My family loves this restaurant. The food is excellent, and I
believe that the employees are family. We love the pasta,
the salads etc.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Been a Faithful Patron Since the Old Location...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

When I was just a kid, my parents used to take us down to the CT shoreline once or maybe twice a year. And when we went down there we always ate at Luigi's Restaurant in Old Saybrook. Their old location (where a travel agency or Pizza Hut is now?) had many visits from my family going back to the early 1980s.

Of course Luigi's eventually expanded by moving down the street a ways. Thankfully the quality and experience remains equality great as what I remember from my youth.

So much so that over the last 10 years my wife and I have made many annual visits back to this restaurant. Luigi's has never disappointed me. From the fresh baked bread they bring you to the unique and flavorful pizza offerings I have never left here unsatisfied. The service always feels very cordial and welcoming.

My wife absolutely loves the 6-cheese 'purses' pasta special.

If you are in the area and want to try a true staple of what local and family owned Italian is all about, please stop in! You won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luigi's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.