We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an ok place to stay but will never visit this town again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Saybrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage Motor Inn
1500 Boston Post Rd., Old Saybrook, CT 06475   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Old Saybrook
nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“an ok place to stay but will never visit this town again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

my husband and I stayed here one night; an ok place, clean. But, if you want to check in a little early and also a place to wait around (for friends, just to get out of your room, etc), you are out of luck. This is really very basic motel, without any public waiting room except outdoors. I guess it's reasonable price for this expensive town with nothing much to do though. This town really is for rich retirees who want to stroll around the beach - mostly private beaches where a tourist (like me & my husband) cannot even visit the lighthouse, because it is located inside a private area which is restricted to certain private 'members only'. Not the best vacation spot, but a good idea why someone rich & famous like Kathryn Hepburn decided to retire here.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
montclair, n.j.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

Staff was extremely cooperative. Couldn't have been nicer.
Enjoyed the pool every day. Room was very clean and comfortable.
Hope to go back next year.

  • Liked — The staff, pool and location.
  • Disliked — Late check in
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

Talk about being made to feel welcome! The mother, daughter and son-in-law that run the Heritage take great pride in their establishment and are extremely accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable, there was alway fresh fruit at the continental breakfast. The main house is a historic building and it and the 12 units are within walking distance of a deli and pizza place. By far the best feature is the staff. Children under 12 are not allowed so it made for a very peaceful vacation.

  • Liked — The staff were very friendly and caring.
  • Disliked — proximity to route 1 traffic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

Friendly family owned small establishment with pool in backyard setting. Very accomodating and available with great suggestions for restaurant suggestions, antiquing, and shopping. Always on site. Clean home type atmosphere. This is the second time in three years we spent the weekend with friends. Will go back again. Easy to make reservations. No concern regarding confirmation status - accurate with reservation information given.
all units on ground floor with outside entrance.

  • Liked — Convienent
  • Disliked — No opinion
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

If you're looking for a comfortable, very clean, and friendly place to stay, than this is it. IT's not fancy by any means, could use some renovations, but the beds were comfortable and clean. The owner ( Carol) is so friendly and helpful she makes you feel as if you've known her for a very long time. They also serve coffee, juices, muffins, granola bars, oatmeal, and fresh fruit in the morning. For someone like me who doesn't like to go out looking for a breakfast place in the morning this is a big plus. Definitely recommend!

  • Liked — cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — torn shade in bathroom and door wouldn't close
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

We recently stayed at this small motel while visiting family for the weekend. From our first contact making reservations, we encountered very friendly, very honest, and very helpful staff. The woman who took the reservations explained that the room was small and methodically explained the limitations of the room, bath, and amenities. When we checked in, she explained that she had not charged our credit card yet because she wanted to show us the room and make sure we were satisfied. Very impressive customer service!

The room was, in fact, small with two double beds and a small bathroom with a "showertub". Since we were only planning to sleep in the room, we were not concerned with the smallness. Despite being small, the room and bathroom were very clean (though the room had a slight musty odor). The beds were comfortable though the sheets were a bit scratchy. The bathroom had plenty of towels and plenty of hot water. We did not need to use the a/c on the nights we were there so we can't comment on that. Instead, we left the windows open. Despite being on a very busy road, at night, it was fairly quiet. The walls are pretty thin and the plumbing is pretty loud but surprisingly, it was fairly quiet during our stay. We could hear muffled sounds from the TV and voices in the next room but not loud enough to be disturbing. The pool was very clean though not heated. The grounds were well kept and also clean. The continental breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, fruit, boiled eggs, instant oatmeal packages, granola bars and packaged cinnamon buns.

Overall, this motel, though old, is well kept and very clean with friendly employees. It lacks almost all of the modern amenities except for cable TV and a/c but that was not an issue for us either. While we were neither disappointed nor dissatisfied, in the end, the price just seemed a bit too high.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

I brought my family (4 kids) here to stay while waiting to get into our new house - it is clean,very clean. The owners are very warm and friendly, we felt very comfortable and safe. The furnishings are tradional in style, the bathrooms are older but in excellent condition and spotless. Having checked other area motels and hotels before checking in here, I can say with out any doubt that this is the best deal in the area. we unexpectedly needed a few more nights a few days later and my wife and kids wanted to go back -we did. It's a bit like staying at your grandparents house, homely and warm.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heritage Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Motor Inn

Address: 1500 Boston Post Rd., Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Old Saybrook
Also Known As:
Heritage Motor Hotel Old Saybrook
Heritage Hotel Old Saybrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Heritage Motor Inn to your Saves list