We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management and still AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paperback Cafe

Paperback Cafe
210 Main St, Ste 8, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2333
860-388-9718
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 73 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“New management and still AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Regulars and visitors alike can be assured of a delicious meal and outstanding service at the Paperback Cafe. The new manager wisely retained cooking and serving staff while tweaking the menu with new offerings. I devoured the stuffed pepper and sampled my wife's pita bread with trout - also delicious. Don't pass up the opportunity to eat at the Paperback Cafe when in Old Saybrook.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    6
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A quaint Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's fun to go there the people who work there are nice, alot of famous people
go there. I saw Carly Simon, Kathi-Lee Gifford and Hoda, Katherine Hephren,
Katie Couric, Neil Armstrong(astronaut). It also has top notch food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Extensive breakfast menu and great service at this local gem - while the staff was kept busy with large groups and constant turns of tables, we never felt rushed or ignored.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just Walk On By”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have eaten in this restaurant in the past and it was pretty good. This morning we brought our young granddaughter for breakfast and it will be my last time. It took fifteen minutes to get our coffee and forty five minutes to get our meal. The waitress never filled our coffee. Actually we never saw her again until the food finally came out. Forgot the bacon and toast. My omelet was filled with fresh and quality ingredients but no spice flavor. The service was really lacking. The food OK. Fun sidewalk seating. I will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The charm is gone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've frequented the Paperback Cafe for the last few years and have always loved it. However, I went in recently with my family to find out that the cafe had changed owners. Needless to say, the charm is gone. The creativity that once was it's driving force is now completely gone. And it seems that the new owner kept the most inept of the previous staff. Very disappointed, probably won't go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paperback Cafe also viewed

Old Saybrook, CT
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Paperback Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paperback Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.