We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The charm is gone” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paperback Cafe

Paperback Cafe
210 Main St, Ste 8, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2333
860-388-9718
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 72 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dessert
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The charm is gone”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've frequented the Paperback Cafe for the last few years and have always loved it. However, I went in recently with my family to find out that the cafe had changed owners. Needless to say, the charm is gone. The creativity that once was it's driving force is now completely gone. And it seems that the new owner kept the most inept of the previous staff. Very disappointed, probably won't go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    5
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A fine start to the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visiting the Old Saybrook area we followed Trip Advisors lead and had breakfast at the Paperback Cafe. There was a line (it was a Saturday), but not too long and seeing how people were enjoying their breakfast helped. We had oatmeal and coffee. Nothing exciting except both were outstanding! Most oatmeal I've eaten is basic, this was delicious.
If I lived in the area, I would make this place a regular stop. Fine food, nice relaxed atmosphere and a delightful server who actually seemed to care about us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Not to be taken lightly! Great selection and good execution. Maybe not world class but really a nice place for unusual breakfast and highly competent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Right in the heart of one of the cutest Ct towns! Great coffee and breads/muffins. Fast service and with a smile!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Maine
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great choice for wonderful, solid food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This Old Saybrook restaurant has been a local favorite for many years with a well deserved reputation for consistency. A really good choice for breakfast or lunch. The food is solid, tasty, and good every time. They have recently repainted and freshened the interior. Their location in a small mall can present some quirky challenges but that is part of the local charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paperback Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Paperback Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paperback Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.