We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat good food, enjoy watching the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Salt

Fresh Salt
2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2502 (Formerly Terra Mar Grill)
+1 860-388-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fresh Salt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 154
Description: Fresh Salt is located in the Saybrook Point Inn. Our tables overlook the waters of the Connecticut River where the fresh river meets the salt of the sound. It's a treasured and historic spot. In nature the most vibrant life happens where systems meet. These places are rich in life, and our restaurant reflects that lively diversity. We have a raw bar, a seasonally varied menu, and offer as much as we can from the farms, brewers, cheese makes and other food enterprises that are springing up around our region. Fresh Salt delivers a dining experience that's comfortable and relaxed. Our staff is here to be of service to you, our kitchen stands ready with fresh ingredients, a deep wine cellar and carefully crafted fusions of foods and beverages that bring tastes together in delicious and new ways. We have tables by the fire, at the bar, and in season offer seating outdoors on the Fresh Salt Terrace.
Essex, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Eat good food, enjoy watching the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We came to get out of the house and for a quiet dinner together and had our choice of window tables, because most seem to come for friendship around the bar, which felt fun and festive. Our most memorable dish for the evening was the calamari appetizer in a spicy sauce (just a little kick), which is usually only on the lunch menu but came with the prix fixe dinner this time.

Prices were on the high end for the dishes we ordered, but we left satisfied.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
jcwareham,
I am so happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere at Fresh Salt. We understand how hectic life can get and strive to provide a relaxing space for all of our patrons. We hope you come back for another calamari appetizer soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    71
    37
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Haddam, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Huge thanks to the staff of Fresh Salt for making my husband's 3/6/14 birthday dinner perfect.
I made the reservations and arrangements for his special dinner online at OpenTable and was a bit nervous that things wouldn't be as they should when my husband arrived.
My worries were completely vanquished by how perfectly the Fresh Salt staff took care of all the details. They could not have been more helpful or courteous. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicous.
Fresh Salt has "all the right stuff" for make dining out a complete pleasure.
Outstanding experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
EMB527,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted to see that we were able to make your husband's birthday celebration extra special. We continuously strive to meet all the needs of our guests, right down the smallest of details. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Just stopping in for drinks and raw bar tonight...but loved it as usual. Got a table in the lounge and Nancy was great with service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
JanOldSaybrookCT,
We are so glad you decided to stop in for a casual evening in our lounge. Your kinds words are very much appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with Nancy; this will absolutely make her day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Views of the Marina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The quality of the food is typicall very good, among the best in the area. Service sometimes is slow. Great atmosphere with nice views of the marina and the Connecticut River. A little pricey but usually not disappointed

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Steven C,
Thank you for your feedback. I am so glad that you have had such good experiences at our restaurant and apologize for any times you may have had slower service. Please be assured that your experience is always our chief concern. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel and surroundings are awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

How can anything be wrong with an establishment sitting on the base of the river and sound!! The food and drinks are very $$$$ and personally I feel the value is not there. Sorry

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaybrookPointInn, Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
JanOldSaybrookCT,
Thank you for your comments regarding Fresh Salt. I am so happy to see that you find our location to be one of a kind; we feel it is a very special place. I do, however, apologize that you did not did not see an appropriate value for the price paid. We are continuously working to meet the needs of all of our patrons and I hope that you give us another chance to provide you with the experience that you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Salt also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.