We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swordfish Chops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Salt

Fresh Salt
2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2502 (Formerly Terra Mar Grill)
+1 860-388-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fresh Salt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 154
Description: Fresh Salt is located in the Saybrook Point Inn. Our tables overlook the waters of the Connecticut River where the fresh river meets the salt of the sound. It's a treasured and historic spot. In nature the most vibrant life happens where systems meet. These places are rich in life, and our restaurant reflects that lively diversity. We have a raw bar, a seasonally varied menu, and offer as much as we can from the farms, brewers, cheese makes and other food enterprises that are springing up around our region. Fresh Salt delivers a dining experience that's comfortable and relaxed. Our staff is here to be of service to you, our kitchen stands ready with fresh ingredients, a deep wine cellar and carefully crafted fusions of foods and beverages that bring tastes together in delicious and new ways. We have tables by the fire, at the bar, and in season offer seating outdoors on the Fresh Salt Terrace.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Swordfish Chops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Saybrook Point Inn off season and had dinner at Fresh Salt. The menu listed Block Island Swordfish Chops. I asked the waitress to explain. The cut is the check of a swordfish and is stuffed with minced calamata olives and capers. The result was absolutely unexpected and delicious! Very tender and succulent. It was served with spinach and fingerling potatoes - all perfectly cooked. I have eaten swordfish for decades and never had this cut. Our table overlooked the Connecticut River and we had a delightful time. Lovely meal, lovely service, lovely dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy D, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. I am so glad to hear you had a great experience and that the swordfish is still making great impressions. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    71
    37
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Breakfast there with a three egg omlett is great. Service attentive. Hot lobster roll for luch with a Martini is a must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy D, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always striving to be the best and are pleased to hear when guests have a great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful dinner spot. Beautiful, warm decor. Delicious food and excellent wine. Friendly and attentive service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved The Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spectacular breakfast served with a view of Long Island Sound. It doesn't get much better than this. Some might say it is "pricey" but I'll argue the food, servicce and view make it more than worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy D, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about having breafast with us. I am pleased to hear that the food, service and view were all worth it. Please come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average to Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It tends to get crowded, seating outside is nice, prices just dont reflect quality of thge food, rather, just the ambiance. Kind of reminded me of Water's Edge or the Back Porch. Decent food, but your paying to be close to the water. But at least Back Porch and Water's Edge have happy hour specials!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billy D, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Please note we have made a lot of improvements since your visit in August. I started here at the end of September and I feel my staff has really been making a huge effort to go above and beyond for our guests Also our Chef and kitchen staff are also working dilgently to be #1 and give our guests a great culinary experience.
One of the improvements I think you would enjoy is the fact that we do have Happy Hour now every mon-thurs 4:30-6pm. We started Happy Hour a few months ago and it has been a very big hit with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Salt also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.