We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blech!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food

Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food
1712 Boston Post Rd, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-1642
(860) 399-9060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 73 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Blech!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were driving by on a Saturday and decided that Mexican would be good for lunch. Although a little surprised to see Irish decorations in the window, it was near St. Patty's Day. We went inside expecting some decent tacos or burrittos. We almost changed our minds when we heard the Irish music but, unfortunately, decided to stay. The decor was a little odd - somewhat Mexican, but with American things, too, such as a sign for Merrimac Witch Hazel Co., a letter from Lincoln to a woman in Boston, and seats from old tractors hanging on the wall.

The tortilla chips and salsa were yummy, and the service was fast and friendly; however, the noisy, drunken fools at the bars talking about shaving their ____s and the Irish music did not make for a pleasant, Mexican lunchtime atmosphere. My husband ordered an enchalata, and I had a burritto. Both dishes came with dry, overcooked (old?) rice and disgusting beans. The enchalata and burritto were both covered in American cheese. All we could taste was the cheese, but when we removed the cheese, the rest of the meal tasted like BLAND NOTHINGNESS. There was no spice at all to the meal. We will not go again and definitely will warn our friends to stay away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    16
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not good at all!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We just ate at the Cuckoo's Nest and had a really awful experience. First there was some stuff - moldy slime floating in the cokes...that several children in our party of 12 ordered. Really disgusting. Easy to show the waitress who replaced them with pink lemonade. Obvious problem...then the glass my daughter was given had a crack on the lip of the glass- sharp. The food was just "not good". Food was not really freshly prepared. Not authentic at all. My salad was okay and so was the nachos but the enchilada, taco, and all the rest including several desserts left a lot to be desired. We had 7 adults and 5 children and really no one was pleased. We will not be back! Oh and no attempt was made to compensate us fro the slime in the cokes or the chipped glass which may have helped a little...but really, the food was just really not good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brunch only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I think they have really gone downhill of late. Food is very bland and the place needs a remodel inside. Even the wait staff is lackluster. The only decent thing left is their Sunday brunch, which I would recommend as its selections are fresh. But don't bother eating there any other time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Chicken bone burrito?? Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Thank goodness I spotted the huge thigh bone in my chicken burrito, otherwise I may have eaten some of the other GROSS chicken parts before I realized it. It looked like the cook (clearly not a chef) chopped up barely cooked chicken legs--skin, ligaments, gristle and filled the tortilla with that. The waitress did notify the manager and we didn't get charged for it, but I do not think I'll be ordering burritos again for a long while, never mind ever going back here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Skip it, you might regret eating here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just went for Sunday brunch, which sounded like a great idea. Don't worry, you can choose to order off the menu instead, if you don't like anything in the brunch buffet. Adults are $15.95, kids are $9.50, little kids are free. Was pretty happy with the burritos and tacos and desserts and fresh guacamole, although thought they were too bland and too salty. Immediately after eating, we had headaches and insanely dry mouths and throats, so we deducted that they're using either Adobo, MSG, or both. Such a shame. Although I could use a basket of spice and hot sauce to go with my food there, I can't negotiate on food that makes me feel funny. I guess I'll have to stick with Su Casa in Branford (also bland Mexican) or Valencia Luncheria in Norwalk (spicy Venezuelan) if I want to scratch my South American taste itch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuckoo's Nest Mexican Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.