We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for 1 night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Inn to your Saves list
Liberty Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Springbrook Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not bad for 1 night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

stayed here one night for a wedding in Old Saybrook. Cheapest option, and we weren't using it for more than a place to change clothes and sleep. Yes it's dated, but the air conditioning worked great, bathroom was clean and updated, and manager on duty was nice. What else could you want/need from a motel on the highway?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews I had read onTrip Advisor. There were 3 of us needing 2 rooms for the Ancient Mariners Muster. The hotel is right off of I-95...so there is traffic noise,nothing too bad though. The building is a little older, although the room I was in had been renovated not too long ago. We were there Fri., Sat. & Sun. night and paid only $318 incl. tax. Now that's a bargain. I've paid $50,$60, even $100 more a night for a room and had it be about the same quality. The fellow who runs the hotel is very friendly and helpful. So, the bottom line is this...It's not the Waldorf-Astoria. But it is a clean,comfortable hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes, it is an old motel. Probably built 50 years ago when the Connecticut Turnpike (aka I95) was first built. But the room I had was clean and had been updated. New toilet and carpeting. Recent paint job. It is a small business and the man that checked me in at 10:40 pm was still working at 9:30 am when I left. Yes, it is old and tired, but you can't beat the $79 price for a night in August on the Connecticut coast.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was dirty and the road noise was terrible. It felt like that room probably hadn't been used in a long time. Everything was covered in dust. Road noise doesn't usually bother me but it's really bad at this place. Sounds like the trucks are coming through your room. Also, the ice machine is located in the office so it's not accessible at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I booked a room through the LI website. We asked for a handicapped room and got one. The room had been renovated and was reasonably clean. The maid did miss the shower curtain, however. It was pretty grungy on the inside near the bottom when unfolded.
We liked the comfortable beds, the table and chairs, and the TV. The manager and desk help were very friendly. They had Dunkin Donuts for breakfast, but unfortunately, they were stale.
All in all, it was a good motel for the money and we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Older small motel,very clean,good price,manager was outstanding. Ithought I'd have a heart attack when I arrived home in Maine and discovered I had left my little book of all my user names AND passwords. I called the motel and the manager immediately went to our room and serched while
keeping me on his portable phone. He found it and sent it THAT NIGHT as he said he would. Also,
I really liked having a nice refrig. and microwave. I'll go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is a typical little motel. It has some issues like the room smelled a little musty. If you're looking for a palace, this is not it but if you're looking for a room within minutes drive of the beach in Old Saybrook for under a hundred bucks, this is it. Nothing special but not the worst place I have ever seen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Address: 55 Springbrook Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Liberty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liberty Inn Old Saybrook is minutes from Tanger Factory Outlet, Clinton Crossing Premium Outlet, Gillettes Castle State Park, local beaches, Essex Steam Train/Riverboat, Waters Edge, Connecticut River, Mohegan Sun, and Foxwoods Casino. The hotel offers amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, electronic locks and access via exterior corridors, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Old Saybrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.