We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & a Great Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Inn to your Saves list
Liberty Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Springbrook Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
New York, NY
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Clean & a Great Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Despite some negative reviews that made me worry about where I had booked, I found the Liberty Inn to be clean and well maintained. This is a motel that offers no services. But, the staff was helpful, the room was large, the air conditioner worked well, bedding was clean, and the room was quiet. Not sure why the negative reviews, but as others indicated $88 is a bargain rate and I'd return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

enjoyed our stay here, good value for what was in the room. Safe town, clean property, a little older but looks like updates are taking place, there was a guy painting outside when we checked in. Nice landscaping. We would come back if we were passing through.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

not a scary neighborhood, perfectly nice manager, a little dusty and out-dated but not bad for the price...nice landscaping.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed one night for a wedding this weekend with my husband. Room had a horrible odor, and it was dirty. No hot water in shower, and noisy due to fact it is on the highway. Do not waste you money here. Maybe be temporary housing for the homeless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We attended a wedding at SPI last weekend and stayed here, compared to what everyone else in town was charging, our room was not bad for what we paid. It had everything we needed and the clerk at the desk was helpful with directions. The room was clean and we had a decent night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hot water in shower unavailable, bulb need replacement above sink, stained coverlets, and broken electrical outlets.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south hadley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Liberty Inn is a budget motel, so one shouldn't expect a whole lot more. It is convenient to Old Saybrook if you are traveling on the 91 or the 95, and it is clean. There are nice beaches and places to visit nearby. But it is in the unfortunate position of being right next to a highway, with no sound barriers, so it is quite noisy. I found the owners and other staff wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable, however, so that made up for the drawbacks. They also accept dogs. If I ever need a cheap place to stay on the CT coast, I'll consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Inn

Address: 55 Springbrook Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Liberty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Liberty Inn Old Saybrook is minutes from Tanger Factory Outlet, Clinton Crossing Premium Outlet, Gillettes Castle State Park, local beaches, Essex Steam Train/Riverboat, Waters Edge, Connecticut River, Mohegan Sun, and Foxwoods Casino. The hotel offers amenities such as complimentary continental breakfast, electronic locks and access via exterior corridors, and free high-speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liberty Hotel Old Saybrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.