We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food for an old restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Crab Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Blue Crab Steakhouse
1745 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475
(860) 399-5674
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 72 Restaurants in Old Saybrook
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food for an old restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We went with expectations of having the options of eating crab legs, crawfish, soft shell crabs, lobster and an assortment of various fishes. It turns out it is just a regular restaurant with a handful of seafood dishes like crab cakes, fried calamari, fried shrimp, fried scallops. The place was a little run down with a very low ceiling but charming. They brought out homemade bread and it was delicious... better than the entrees we ordered. The dessert was very good as well. We ordered the banana and chocolate spring roll and it was very good. I figured if their homemade bread was delicious, the homemade desserts must be good too and it sure was!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST STEAK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I LOVED IT. I dont think there is anything we hated by far the best we will defnetialy be going back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice little surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had set out to dine at a certain restaurant near the shore which we used to visit yearly, this year to find out that it was closed. Not being familar with the area, I used my trip advisor app to find another sit down restaurant in the area. We tried one that you needed reservations for, so next was The Blue Crab Steakhouse. Other's are right, the outside could use a little makeover, but it was very cute and elegant inside. It was exactly what we were looking for except its not waterfront. The inside reminds me of an old house, small and cozy yet I felt it was elegant yet casual. It was a saturday night around 8:30 by the time we found it, there were only a few people in the dining room and some in the bar area where there was a person singing and playing the piano. Very nice touch, I enjoyed the live dinner music. The service was good, very polite waitress, explained specials slowly and clearly. The menu had a great selection of seafood and steaks, I feel it was fairly priced as well. They served us a warm zucchini bread with our drinks that was out of this world. We could have eaten just that. We got the crab cakes and shrimp cocktail appetizers, both excellent with spicy sauces. I had the lazy man lobster which was a good amount of lobster but I felt it was a little salty/garlicy and just a bit too buttery. I enjoyed it nonetheless! I also had a side salad with the lemon herb dressing which I LOVED. Not something you can find other places. My bf had a steak which he enjoyed as well. We did not save room for dessert. Overall we were thrilled with our find, and would definetly return to this restaurant if we are ever in the area again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Web site make you think a classy place, upon arrival it's more like "what a dump"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Parking lot is full of pot holes, lighting is soo poor you need a flashlight to see the menu, if you look closely at the interior you can understand why the lights are turned way down. Dumpy.

Menu is lacking, no draft beer, steaks look more like grade b steak, not even close to what you get at a real steakhouse.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Went on a Sunday evening, bar was packed with open mike night. Stood at desk for probably 15 minutes waiting for hostess. I heard about the cajun rib eye, so I ordered that. The NY strip came with grilled onions and mushrooms, I asked if I could get that with the rib eye, she said sure. I ordered it med rare. Finally the steak came out, no onions or mushrooms, I asked where they were, she said they only came with the NY strip (and yes, it was the same waitress). After telling her she said I could get it, she went and got it. My steak was more rare than anything. When she came back to ask how eveerything was, I told her about it being rare and got a "oh". and off she went, not to return. Glad she asked. As for the cajun seasoning, I tasted none. I was not impressed and do not plan to return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Crab Steakhouse also viewed

 
Old Saybrook, CT
 

Been to The Blue Crab Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Crab Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.