We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Old Saybrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Super 8 Old Saybrook to your Saves list
Super 8 Old Saybrook
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   37 Spencer Plain Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    24
    12
    17
See reviews for
41
37
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lampertheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed 1 night in Super 8 Motel Old Saybrook on our way from NY to Boston. We chose this motel because it's close to two outlet-shopping-centers. It's a typical motel beside the interstate. Room was okay, but a little bit older. Room was clean, but a bit noisy - you thought the people walking to their rooms are running through your room... Breakfast was small, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIANNA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Room had a bad odor. Would not stay there again. Liked the location. Motel seemed to be quite old. I have nothing good to say about this motel. Was supposed to stay two nights and checked out after one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Motel is conveniently located. Decent prices. Clean rooms. My only problem was the wireless internet signal was weak and kept disappearing then reappearing, so I was constantly disconnected. Don't know if room location had anything to do with it. I was in room 220. Very frustrating. But otherwise an okay experience. My son was originally in the non-smoking room next door, but had to relocate because of a smoke smell. Apparently the room on the other side is a smoking room and the odor affected his room. But the staff was accommodating about moving him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this Super-8 for our August vacation several years running now. This is because we can always count on Alex and his staff to give us spotless and well-maintained accomodations every time! For the money, you can't go wrong with this Super-8!
Satisfied once again,
Tom & MIchele

Room Tip: We feel that the best rooms are on the second floor, pool side! These rooms are quieter and have eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Because of a fire at my permanent home, I have had to stay at a motel for the past nine weekends. The hotel is the 'Super 8' in Old Saybrook, CT. This hotel has been an excellent place to stay. The manager, Alex, and all of the employees have great attitudes, and work very hard to ensure that every need of the guests are taken care of. Everything is done with a smile, and I would definitely reccomend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Old Saybrook

Address: 37 Spencer Plain Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Old Saybrook Hotel Old Saybrook
Super Eight Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Super 8
Old Saybrook Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Old Saybrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.