We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Sandpiper Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First stop to New England from new York and a handy location, just off the freeway.
Staff are welcoming, rooms are clean and tidy, with all amenities. Free breakfast served next to the lobby,perfectly adequate, with a good choice of cereals, pastries and of course coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    4
    4
    23
See reviews for
16
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

There was no where else to stay otherwise we would have chosen to stay somewhere else. This is a substandard hotel, more like a bad motel. Noisy air conditioning, and an idiot staffing the front desk who could not spell our name regardless of having our passports in front of him. His suggesstion for food places saw us drive up the interstate to a shopping centre that was closed, and had no food court anyway! We drove back to the hotel and cruised town only to find 2 restaurants less than a block away !! Jokes on us I suppose. Thankfully we will never be through that way again to suffer further. Dirty and horrible. Thankfully we did not get bedbugs as mentioned in the other articles, but that explains the horrible chemical odour in the room!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed for several days. Room had an odor or bug spray. Rooms were never vaccumed, dusted, the bathroom and toilet were never cleaned, no fresh sheets and we were there for 5 days. One day no roms in the hotel were cleaned at all. Not a very friendly place to stay. This was once a very nice place with clean rooms, great free breakfast, ideally located, but all this has been changed in the past month with the new owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

BED BUGS!!!! Do not stay at the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites in Old Saybrook, CT. We recently stayed there from August 6th, 2012 to the 9th in rooms 303 and 304 to be specific and we left infected by BED BUGS! When we told the concierge at check out they seemed less then concerned. We were told that a manager would be in contact with us and when we finally reached them after several called attempts, we were hung up on and dismissed. If you think you are staying at a remodeled facility don't be fooled. You will leave miserable and covered in disguting bed bug bites. I wouldn't wish this on my worst enemy. STAY FAR AWAY!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We made our reservations on Econolodge.com, however when we got to the hotel we were not given the 2 queen bed room we had reserved. We were instead given a very small 1 queen bed room. We went back down to the front desk and we were told if we didn't directly call the hotel to make the reservation, the mix-up wasn't their fault. They would not compensate the difference in room rate, so we were grudgingly given a king size room. It sounded like they were going to have to bump another reservation sometime down the line.

In their favor, the hotel is all non-smoking and they are still in the process of remodeling.

Having seen 2 rooms in the hotel, I would say they are "putting lipstick on a pig". The king size room was remodeled, it had new carpet, with a nice granite sink, refridgerator and microwave area. A fairly new couch and new drapes.

However, the hallways are badly in need of new carpet and paint, at least washing the dirt off the walls and woodwork. The doors to the rooms are very scuffed up and were difficult to shut, we could not get the deadbolt lock to work. There was no mattress pad and the bottom sheet was too small and wouldn't stay tucked in. There was a remote for the A,/C unit that was filthy (I put it into a plastic bag to use it). There were hairs in the bathroom.
Bottom line is: stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We weren't here for the beaches, we were just late-night travelers looking for a place to stay before we continued our journey. The property looked nice. The desk clerk was attentive but was new and didn't know much yet. It was expensive, but then we were taking what we could get, which wound up to be a suite, at 9:30 at night. The bathroom was a bit worn - the ceiling needed some work and the tub had no stopper. I couldn't see that it was ever meant to. Why install a tub that can't be used as a tub? The beds had those polyester, quilted covers that feel sleazy. Pros - a place to sleep. Cons - not good value for the amount we had to spend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

In spite of the good reviews here, and the recommendation to stay here overnight for the wedding attended, I found deplorable conditions in room 210. Mold in the bathroom, rust in the tub which did NOT have any stopper. As a bath taker, I took the precaution of asking if they had bathtubs, to which they replied yes, but then found out they have no means to stop the tub, which creaked,cracked sink, broken and nasty caulking around the tub, shredded carpet at the bathroom door parapet, and no security lock - just the holes!

I've taken photos of everything as proof that this is no baseless complaint!

The polite but ineffectual front desk clerk would NOT give me the email of the manager, just her name and phone number, and the main front door entrance was littered with construction.

The mattress, though good, was short sheeted because the sheet was not fitted, and there was no mattress pad. ALL OF THIS for $190 plus tax!

When I asked to see other rooms, the room next door, room 208 had the smell of smoke, and 220's rug was flooded at the entrance.

I am sending all of this to Stephen Joyce, CEO of Choice Hotels, which owns Econo Lodge,
who obviously made a very poor choice to purchase this unfortunate chain!

Do yourselves a big favor and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook

Address: 1750 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Sandpiper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, an Old Saybrook hotel near Essex Village. Just outside of Essex Village, the The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides easy access to several area attractions. Local points of interest like the Mohegan Sun casino, Gregory James Gallery, General William Hart House historical landmark and Harvey's Beach are minutes from this Old Saybrook, CT hotel.Nearby Mystic Seaport-The Museum of America and the Sea offers so much to see and do. Visitors will enjoy strolling through the 19th century seafaring village where you can see history come alive in the countless maritime galleries, displays, museums and more.A variety of entertainment venues and retailers can be found in the surrounding area. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are close by; some are within walking distance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.