We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1750 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Sandpiper Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Spent 2 pleasant nights at Econo Lodge in Old Saybrook, Connecticut. Its better priced, large rooms, full of amenities and less noisy though close to everything. Wi-Fi speed was excellent, breakfast was fabulous and friendly front desk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    4
    4
    23
See reviews for
16
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel has obviously just been renovated and it shows. Great room, comfortable beds, nice flat screen tv and the whirlpool tub was awesome! The staff were friendly and helpful, even printing directions to a wedding reception for us. It was centrally located in a nice area, close to everything, but still quiet without road noise. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The location and area were great and worked out okay for a family event we attended in Essex. The hotel itself was pretty dumpy. The staff were not friendly. There was mildew growing in every corner of the bathroom- tub, toilet, sink, walls, ceiling. You could actually smell the mildew in the hallway and bedroom. There was rust on the ceiling. The comforter had burn holes in it not too far from what we thought was a blood stain. The smoke detector had no batteries. I guess their $250 in-room smoking charge doesn't go too far with repair. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Nice big room. Great for kids! Good breakfast options. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Because it is a dump. I usually use Trip Advisor to review places and post reviews on Yelp (see The Avenue hostel in SLC). Here I'm gonna do both because they advertise as a "recommended hotel on Trip Advisor" and they shouldn't be. Honestly, I'm really not the picky person and this place is that bad.

The place in general is dirty. Sure it is under renovation but if you are staying on the 2nd floor, you won't use the elevator because stairs are quicker and these stairs next to the front desk smell musty and haven't been cleaned in months. Trust me, it wasn't renovation dirty.

Room 205: Our 1st room (205) smelled like smoke(all rooms are non-smoking), the phone didn't work, shower dripped, cracked floor tiles, and quasi exposed carpet tack strips that one of us accidentally stepped on as we moved rooms.

Room 213: Room #2, the heater blows straight on the bed and when it has reached it's temp, cool air blows on you. The fan in the shower didn't work and the steam sets off the fire alarm. I ironed a shirt and I typically don't look at the bottom (why should I have to?) and black junk got on a dress shirt and ruined it. The sink in the tub thankfully drained but not the counter sink. The advertised wifi? Forget about it. My 3mo old HP couldn't get it.

Our experience with management: Overall the people working their were good, helped w/ a bottle opener for a beer, changed our rooms, apologetic with the iron, gave me the regular manager/owner's name. The last guy though when we checked out (we dealt with three different people) didn't say thanks or inquire on our stay or acknowledge our issues (I be he spoke with the earlier guy).

When we told the guy behind the desk about the smoke in the first room, he said thanks and said they they would charge back the previous tenant. Come on. Wouldn't the maid have smelled it when it was made up and now you charge back someone based on what another guest says? That's wrong.

Tushar, the overall manager/maybe owner, only offered a 15% refund on a $80 stay. Give me a break. My shirt was more then that and if we had plans to stay another night, we would've went to a different hotel. He also said if the heater was giving us issues, we should've asked for a 3rd room change, please note this would've been the middle of the night. Really? Three rooms for a 1 night stay?

Seriously, I can understand if things are under renovation. But then don't put guests up in crap rooms and keep the rest of the place clean. My uncle also booked a night here (we were in town for a wedding) and changed rooms his first night. His booking the place first and my wanting to see him(it had been a couple of years) is the only reason I didn't do any research on the place.

My mistake and lesson learned.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tdadarwala1, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Elstevo,
I would like to first thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property. It is the feedback from loyal guests like yourself, that can assist us in improving our services.

Secondly, I would like to apologize for the experience that you had with us. We thrive on exceptional customer service and clean comfortable rooms, and it appears that this was not the case for you. We stand out from the rest for a reason, and I can assure you that we are taking the appropriate measures to make sure this does not happen again. I would love the opportunity to make this right and win you back. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that we can work together for a positive resolution.

Again I thank you for your time and valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The rooms are OK, though the bathrooms and the public areas of the hotel are showing their age. As a previous reviewer has said the "continental breakfast" is very basic and very limited with no cereal or toast, but on the plus side the hotel is very peaceful and quiet, well away from road noise and the beds are very comfortable. It's also close to many of the attractions in Old Saybrook. On balance though, I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Stayed for one night with family with two young chidren. This hotel is fine but has nothing to make it stand out. Rooms are fine but a little dated, especially the bathroom. Service was OK, we had asked for crib, which was in the room (but not put up) but they did not provide a sheet for it but when we asked for one it was no problem. The pool on site is quite small but perfectly adequate and a nice deck alongside. We had our breakfast sat on the pool deck while our children paddled. The breakfast is certainly basic but did the job. One gripe, nothing to do with the hotel as such, was a local cab firm that they called for us - Essex Cab - they were fully half an hour late for a dinner we were attending.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook

Address: 1750 Boston Post Road, Old Saybrook, CT 06475 (Formerly Sandpiper Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Saybrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Old Saybrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, an Old Saybrook hotel near Essex Village. Just outside of Essex Village, the The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides easy access to several area attractions. Local points of interest like the Mohegan Sun casino, Gregory James Gallery, General William Hart House historical landmark and Harvey's Beach are minutes from this Old Saybrook, CT hotel.Nearby Mystic Seaport-The Museum of America and the Sea offers so much to see and do. Visitors will enjoy strolling through the 19th century seafaring village where you can see history come alive in the countless maritime galleries, displays, museums and more.A variety of entertainment venues and retailers can be found in the surrounding area. Several restaurants and cocktail lounges are close by; some are within walking distance to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Old Saybrook
Old Saybrook Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Old Saybrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.