We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gwynne: Ohio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mystic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mystic Inn
Save
You added Old Mystic Inn to your Saves list
52 Main Street, Old Mystic, CT 06372-0733   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Mystic B&B and Inns
Washington Court House, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gwynne: Ohio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A wonderful experience! We had booked our stay for one night but were lucky enough to be able to stay one more. Michael made us feel "at home" with his charm and hospitality! His gourmet breakfasts were both "picture-perfect" and delicious. My traveling companions and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Old Mystic and we stayed at the Old Mystic Inn. We went with another couple for a few days getaway from central New Jersey.
Well, I have to tell you that this Inn is very, very clean. The breakfasts were fabulous and the hospitality is wonderful.
We have stayed at many other B&B's and this one is absolutely our favorite. Michael is a great host as well as his staff. He suggested places for dinner and they too were great.
One of the restaurants we loved is The Dog Watch. Great, great food and hospitality.
Thank you Michael for everything.
Kathy and Ricky P.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nathaniel Hawthorne room and it was just fine. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed thee nights in the Mark Twain room in the Old Mystic Inn, and loved it. The room itself was large, well furnished, quiet, clean and air conditioned. The gardens around the property were colourful and well tended. Our breakfasts were delicious, prepared by Michael with care and skill. Everyone was friendly and helpful and made our visit quite enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As promised here's my review - awesome B & B. After reading all the positive reviews on tripadvisor my hubby and I planned a last minute getaway to Mystic. We stayed at the Inn from 9/15/2013 to 9/17/2013. The Old Mystic Inn is a beautiful country inn with the most gracious innkeeper - Michael. Who just happens to cook the best breakfast I have ever eaten. The Inn is clean, clean, clean!!! When we arrived in Mystic around 1:00 pm on Sunday, Michael allowed us to check in earlier as our room was ready. After Michael suggested S & P Oyster House for dinner, he made us a priority reservation with window seating as it was a bit cool to dine outside. Dinner was simply delish - try the Connecticut Cosmo and grilled lobster tails.
During our entire stay Michael gave us some great suggestions as to what to do and where to eat while in Mystic. We had a very relaxing weekend which was just what the doctor ordered after a very busy summer.
Already I am planning a return visit for a couples weekend sometime after the new year.
The Old Mystic Inn is definitely a 5 star B & B which I hope to return to many times!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our family came together for a 2 day "get away" and the Old Mystic Inn was just perfect. We stayed in the main house which we found to be wonderful. It was clean, charming, comfortable and very relaxing. Our Host and Inn Keeper, Michael, made us feel completely at home. The food was excellent. The presentation and service was first class all the way. We are so glad that we found this "GEM".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and I suspect it will be difficult to match. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfasts were exceptional; Michael lived up to his reputation as a gourmet chef and Sherri tended to our every need. This was a nice quiet spot to tour the Mystic area. Tom & Gail Piscione

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have come to think of going to the Old Mystic Inn as going to our second home and visiting family. We have come to adore Michael, Robert, Sheri and family to the point if we do not visit at least twice a year it does not feel right. The Inn itself is immaculate with such old world charm that all the pressures and stresses of daily life just simply melt away upon entering its doors. Every room is beautifully decorated with pictures and books written by the various authors they are named after. The breakfast...always one of the best parts of the trip. Michaels' attention to detail on every plate is incredible. A must stay destination when visiting Mystic. Can't wait to see everyone in December!

Room Tip: Our favorite room in spring. summer. and fall is the Herman Melville room because it has the nice pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mystic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mystic Inn

Address: 52 Main Street, Old Mystic, CT 06372-0733
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Mystic
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house of the inn was built in 1784 and is a blend of antiques and reproduction furnishings. The carriage house was built in 1988 and is a modern Victorian, with rooms decorated in a country cottage decor. All eight rooms are named for a New England author. Queen sized beds, fireplaces, whirpool tubs. A Hearty country breakfast is prepared each morning by chef and owner Michael Cardillo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mystic Hotel Old Mystic
Old Mystic Inn Connecticut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mystic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.