We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed & Breakfast Experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mystic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Mystic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Mystic Inn
Save
You added Old Mystic Inn to your Saves list
52 Main Street, Old Mystic, Groton, CT 06372-0733   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ilion, New York
2 reviews
“Great Bed & Breakfast Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Planning our annual family trip for my two brothers, one sister, their spouses, my wife and myself I checked out online the Mystic Ct. region for a nice bed and breakfast to stay at. The Old Mystic Inn had a great looking web site that detailed their rooms, the character of the facility, local attractions, breakfast served at the Inn, their grounds, the owner, his background, etc. Everything that I read on the site and more was certainly delivered!! Michael, the owner and his staff were outstanding in taking care of all your needs. They add the personal touch, make you warm and comfortable in the quaint historic New England setting. The gourmet breakfast as viewed online is picture perfect and nice way to start out your day. I would highly recommend this to anyone and we look forward to a return visit!! R. Piscione

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this charming old inn. Breakfast was delicious and served in a nice dining room with pretty china and linen table settings. The proprietor was well informed and helped us on our way to our next destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

As a world traveler this B&B is at the top of my list for an overall excellent experience. If you are looking for a true New England holiday, this is the place for you. My parents loved staying here and the owner was so nice and professional. On all my trips throughout Europe, the experience my family had at the Old Mystic Inn was one of a kind. The breakfast is one to remember and all the customer service and courtesy we received will keep us coming back. Thank you Michael for such a wonderful time spent at your place. You started our days off right every morning and I don’t think I could of made it through the week without such ease and generosity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have traveled to 40 countries and the breakfast at this B&B is the best I have ever had. I am from Stonington, have never been here before, and was so shocked at how amazing it was. My mother in law, from Illinois, stayed here for over a week and loves it. If you are looking for a quality B&B or just a place to stay, look no further. Old Mystic Inn is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I felt like I was back in an Old Colonial Village. The furnishings were good quality antiques. The grounds are an adventure themselves. The breakfast was decadent with great presentation. The staff was great. There are fireplaces in each room. I felt very much at home. The Inn is very centrally located to every thing. Mike our host was fantastic we loved him.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiseley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having planned a 2,00+ miles journey around New England, and Ohio, in May 2013, Old Mystic Inn was chosen for the first two nights stay. What a choice it proved to be!

The Inn is steeped in history, yet provided us with all we needed for our stay.

We were met on our arrival, by Chef Michael, the owner. Within a few moments, we were made to feel right at home!

We had chosen the Herman Melville room, and were not disappointed! This room was bright and cheerful, and spotlessly clean.

Michael was the perfect host. He inquired as to our preferrences, for breakfast, and provided a wonderful selection. The food was excellent, (as can be seen in the photos), fresh, and very tasty. It provided the perfect start to the day! Drinks and snacks were available for all guests during their stay!

We would recommend Old Mystic Inn to anyone looking for a beautiful Bed and Breakfast.QUALITY! FRIENDLINESS, AND 100% VALUE FOR MONEY!

Sue & Ralph

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were there in May for two nights, staying in the Carriage House. Very cozy, clean and quiet. The field behind is excellent for bird watching. Michael is a great innkeeper, host and chef. Do believe everything you read about his breakfasts! We will be back!

Sandy

Room Tip: Stay in the Carriage House, very quiet and more private, just across from the main Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mystic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mystic Inn

Address: 52 Main Street, Old Mystic, Groton, CT 06372-0733
Location: United States > Connecticut > Groton > Old Mystic
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The main house of the inn was built in 1784 and is a blend of antiques and reproduction furnishings. The carriage house was built in 1988 and is a modern Victorian, with rooms decorated in a country cottage decor. All eight rooms are named for a New England author. Queen sized beds, fireplaces, whirpool tubs. A Hearty country breakfast is prepared each morning by chef and owner Michael Cardillo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Mystic Hotel Old Mystic
Old Mystic Inn Connecticut

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mystic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.