We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner in a wonderful classic New England Inn.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn

The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn
100 Lyme St., Old Lyme, CT 06371 (Formerly Bee & Thistle Inn)
860-434-1667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 26 restaurants in Old Lyme
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in a wonderful classic New England Inn.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Tonight was our first trip to the Bee and Thistle (even though our son is a waiter there). We had heard mixed reviews in the past but we must say that we were absolutely delighted with our dinner.
The Inn itself is a classic New England gem with cozy and comfortable seating in several small rooms and a main dining room. We were fortunate to sit at the fireplace which was perfect.
Our appetizers-Clam chowder, duck confit quesidilla and a mushroom salad were all cooked and presented to perfection. Main courses of Coffee rubbed pork tenderloin and salmon were some of the best we have ever had. The dessert we had, coffee creme brulee, apple fritters and chocolate cake were decadent beyond compare.
We will be back--and soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    27
    7
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dinner at the bee and thistle b& b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

food was excellently prepared, very tasty, varied, nice wine list and reasonably priced. the setting is in an old Inn and the rooms were charming, with views of the gardens and river.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hartford CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delectable offerings & beautiful view (even on a rainy night)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had an incredible meal, in a romantic setting, complete with a perfect view out the window down to the river. If the weather had cooperated, we would have had our cocktails and wine on the lawn of this historic home, down by the river. Outdoor dining at small care tables is apparently also available, but without the river view. The inn is located next door to the Florence Griswold Museum in Old Lyme, CT, and the scenery out back inspired a community of American impressionist artists some years ago. The interior decor in the restaurant area of the inn is classic, warm, and inviting. I liked the artwork and sculpture displayed. The cocktail specials fashioned by the bartender were fabulous, and the wine we shared (Carnivore) was excellent. Our waiter was attentive, well-informed, and gracious, as was the owner who by to check on our degree of satisfaction. Our party had a good sampling of fare - chowder, salads, salmon, chicken, yellow fin tuna, skirt steak, etc. All entrees were extraordinary and satisfying. Good portions were provided. Desserts, too - coconut creme brule, lemon sponge cake, and chocolate sundaes - were thoroughly enjoyed. The epresso was quite good as well. We will definitely return. Prices were very reasonable, and we enjoyed every minute!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been looking forward to good food that evening but was disappointing. My chicken breast was nothing special and on a drier side rather than juicy. My wife's hanger steak was better and medium rare as promised but nothing special. Given that the price was quite high, we could have had similar dishes at a family restaurant for much less. Menus were quite limited and perhaps people come for the ambience but not us. We enjoyed Tanquery gin and tonic we had before dinner and the glass of cab. I had with dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Finest Restaurant in Old Lyme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Literally the only place that I will eat at in town.
Lets start at the beginning shall we?

I have been all over the world but there is something special here, Something that clicks.

The Bee is super laid back in a way that makes you feel okay about spending 2 hours having lunch, or 30 minutes having a martini. The owner has a selective taste in furniture (think leather sofas and marble end tables) as well as a discerning eye, not only are the staff friendly, but they're actually happy. I don't know who the chef is (I will) but he is definitely world class.

Relax, enjoy, you're home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chestnut Grille at The Bee and Thistle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.