We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Drive-In

Hallmark Drive-In
113 Shore Rd, Old Lyme, CT 06371
(860) 434-1998
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 27 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Franklin, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I am reviewing ice cream only-I saw homemade creamsicle ice cream on the menu and just HAD to have it. The flavor was good, however the texture was awful. Full of air and ice crystals. What's up with that? I gave it one star on flavor alone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dennis, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went twice, once for ice cream which was good but not as good as the scoop shop up the street. We also had a burger and fries one night and that was very good. The young staff likes to chat with each other too much so service is slow. Not bad for a beach area burger joint.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hallmark Old Lyme, CT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ice cream not as good as it was with previous owner. Surroundings much improved. Adequate parking. All in all a pleasant time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had to go back for more. The ice cream is so delicious! It is difficult to choose which flavor to order!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TriviaFanatics
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always go here at least once when on vacation in CT.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wow, I haven't actually been to Hallmark since the last time I vacationed at the beach in Old Lyme but our family has been vacationing there off and on for many many years. My grandparents used to go there, and we went in 2011. It wouldn't be a vacation in Old Lyme if we didn't go there for ice cream at least once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hallmark Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.