We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Restaurant & Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hideaway Restaurant & Pub
19 Halls Rd, Old Lyme, CT 06371-1457
860-434-3335
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Newington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had company from Las Vegas and wanted a good Scallop lunch. Was not disappointed. Good waiter and food. One of my "go to" places in Old Lyme.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    34
    14
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We go to the Hideaway about once a month to sit at the bar and grab a quick dinner. The servers are always friendly and familiar, and the food is always good. A great local classic!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad Night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a wonderful day of golf with our son. We wanted to go somewhere close for a bite to eat. Hideaway was close and we thought maybe it would be better than the last time over a year ago. The food I would not serve to my dogs. The waitress was as rude as anyone I have ever met. There is no reason to say any more except I wouldn't go back there again on a bet. Bad, bad food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice little spot with views of the marsh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hidden in the back of a small shopping plaza, the Hideaway offers good meals, atmosphere and views of Old Lyme marsh area. The food is standard NE American -- lobster rolls, stuffed flounder, steaks -- but well prepared. There's a piano player on weekends for the slightly older crowd.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“horrible!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We made reservations for 12 people for Easter. I was so excited to get the whole belly clams (along with 4 other people in our party). I was served mine maybe 10 minutes after 3 others who ordered the clams were given their plates.. I looked at their plates thanking god I didn't get one of these because it looked like the remains of what had been whole belly clams but just the leftover fried necks and fried bits--I did see one belly on my mom's plate. I thought for sure they had to be cooking up another batch and when they brought out my plate of fresh whole bellies, my family would be sooo jelous. Well, when I received my plate, it looked like deep fried little sticks scooped up from the bottom of the oven and put on a plate . I could not believe what I was seeing. If it had been April 1st and not the 20th I would have thought this was a joke. Really, it was humorous that someone would even serve you this while making eye contact. If this is the whole belly clams, can you imagine what the clam strips must look like? If I wasn't with my entire family and it wasn't easter, and I didn't have a problem making a scene, then yes, I would've complained. I figured this would be my way of complaining and thank god I have only needed to do this once. Shame on you!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Hideaway Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.