We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not kid friendly- decent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Grille
Shore Road, Old Lyme, CT
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Formerly known as "Clams".
St Augustine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not kid friendly- decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family went over 4th of July for the Re-Grand Opening of the Grille. I would not recommend this restaurant for children. They only have 1 highchair and a sign posted that reads something about kids not being really welcome- It is one of those Joke signs, but I still found it tacky and thought they might be serious since they do not have a kids menu or another highchair. Our booth was very cramped and the seat back was loose so I kept disturbing the gentleman behind me every time I moved. My husbands steak was very plain. It had no flavor. My burger was good. The fries were excellent. Our server seemed over whelmed their was another large party there in the room we were in and the other couple that were sitting behind us. She didn't mention the specials so when we heard them offered to the other tables we were bummed. Service was very slow. The bar area was packed so I think that had something to do with it. I would try them again...let them be re-open for a little while.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moosup, Connecticut
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Closed....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went to stop in for dinner on Saturday and found a "Temporarily Closed" sign out front....No idea where they'll be reopening......

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Food In CT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

By far the worst food I have ever had. Most frozen and heated. It was so bad the first time I went, that I had to go again just to see if it just was a bad night for the chef, nope, its that bad all the time. Why this place is still open is a mystery, Even if they had ok food they would be doing a great business because of the location.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old lyme
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Looking for a good burger menu at a reasonable price this is your place. The burger menu has unique choices and comes with a heap of fries.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay food, bad management and onwer attitude.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food is not bad, however the owner/manager is one of the rudest, negative, drunk and unprofessional "business persons" I have ever come across. I have seen her yell at customers for no reason. It reminds me of the Soup Nazi character from Seinfeld. Please do some research on this place before you give them your business. There are much better places to spend your night out. Jessie's, The Black sheep, Penny Lane Pub are better options. Please go elsewhere if you care about treating people with dignity.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.