We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa to your Saves list
Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   100 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Old Lyme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This inn was not our first choice in the area (Connecticut River mouth), but we were lucky that our first choices were unavailable. We used this as a basis for visiting the Hartford and Mystic area, and were very happy with it. That praise includes the restaurant, which served us an excellent and unexpected dinner after a relatively late check in.
My only complaint would be that the bed was too soft. Not worth a star deduction though.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
46
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at The Bee and had the most wonderful time, I travel all over Europe and this was by far the loveliest place I have stayed, very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts delightful cocktails in the elegant bar and not forgetting the lovely meals we had in the restaurant. I can no wait for until my return. Special thanks go to the wonderful Tosh, Sharon and the lovey owner Linnea oh and the gorgeous cookie fairy who left me the most delightful freshly baked cookies by my bed every evening when she turned down my bed, and last but not least Bert the resident rescued parrot. This place and its staff, cookie fairy and parrot is a gem!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful stay here at this charming, well maintained Inn. The guest rooms are small but comfortable, with lovey views all around. Old Lyme is a pretty village, and there are lots of things to do within a short driving distance, The breakfasts offered were simple yet delicious, especially the warm scones. We also had enjoyable meals in the restaurant within the Inn. Spa treatments are also offered. The staff here are very helpful and charming, particularly Tosh on reception and Jake in the dining room/bar. Definately worth a visit to this Inn and this area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I live in NYC. I am a serious foodie. I eat the best of the best. In order to get the amount of quality this place has, I would have to go to 5 restaurants. Chef Kristofer Rowe is one of the best chef's CT has to offer. The food here is perfect. The new decor looks great. The whole place is one of New England's finest..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Cold winter evening in late February - we decided to venture out to the Bee and Thistle - we both decided to have the nights special of chicken and biscuits - good choice! The simple elegant entree was served with a lighter than air biscuit that topped an amazing chicken in gravy. The chicken,we found out was from an Amish farm and shipped overnight to the Inn - so tender and flavorful - don't stay home - come out and enjoy this treasure
Salad, dessert again, amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Afternoon Tea in January 2013 -- We ordered tea during a wonderful family dinner on Christmas Eve. I was very surprised to be served on fine bone china, in a china tea pot! It was a welcome change from being presented with a tea bag and lukewarm water. When I remarked on it, and the server told us about their Afternoon Tea events during the winter, I knew we had to return. So, in January we returned for their Afternoon Tea, which was a wonderful respite from a cold, hectic winter. Seated in a warm parlor in front of a cozy fireplace we were served finger sandwiches, awesome scones and dessert pastries with our tea (again in bone china pots with tea cozies). The fresh jam and cream for the scones was wonderful -- great flavor with the buttery scones. All in all, it was a "must" during the winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Diner on 1/4/13. Staff and service was outstanding. The meal was slightly disappointing from what we had heard about the food quality. I had the tenderloin which was good (the fingerling potatos and mushrooms were excellent). My wife had the short ribs which were the disappointing part of the meal. Not bad at all - just not very good. Every other aspect of our expierence there was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa

Address: 100 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Lyme
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Old Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bee and Thistle sits nestled on five acres bordering the Lieutenant River, in the township of Old Lyme, Connecticut. The Inn is available as a large private guest house or by the individual room on a bed & breakfast basis, daily, weekly, or monthly. All of our nine guest rooms are adorned with elegant accents, each individual in design. Therein you will find fine linens, down pillows and a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bee And Thistle Hotel Old Lyme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bee and Thistle Inn and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.