We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend, good jazz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lyme Inn

Old Lyme Inn
85 Lyme St., Exit 70 I95, Old Lyme, CT 06371
+1 860-434-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lyme Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boston Post Rd.
Transit: Our guests visiting from the I-95 corridor (Boston to New York) may request free pick up from the Old Saybrook, Amtrak-Shoreline East train station.
Description: Our chefs work diligently to offer dishes that run the gamut from traditional selections to unique options that will challenge the way you think about food. The lunch and dinner menu, as well as the wine and cocktail list, change seasonally and employ locally grown and deliciously fresh produce, meat, and seafood; as well as farm-roasted coffee and homemade ice cream.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice weekend, good jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Friendly staff, good food reasonably priced, very nice room (new wing), great Jazz, had a great time. We came for dinner and Jazz and then decided to spend the night. Their web site does not do any justice to the rooms (ours was an impromptu stay and we saw three available rooms). We liked the fried chicken dinner and the home made rolls it came with.

The continental breakfast could be enhanced with fresh baked items and cereal ( good fresh fruit, ok bagel) and the small breakfast room should get more attention with bussing the tables and refilling the coffee and orange juice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent For Couples Gateway!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband surprise me in our anniversary by taking me to this place and since I get there the service, food and room was great, Also The Side Door Jazz is Awesome!! I really enjoyed and truly recommended,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRod861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLIManager, Manager at Old Lyme Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good Afternoon,

We are so pleased to read you had an enjoyable and romantic SURPRISE anniversary trip! We strive to make the inn an intimate setting for weekend getaways while providing a familiar home-away-from-home feeling. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, and please be sure to spread the word!

Thank you and enjoy the rest of this beautiful summer,

Elisa Calkins
Event Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The restaurant has a nice ambiance with a nice selection of food, wine and beer. In addition, on weekends there is a Jazz Club.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailor-NHYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Intimate Setting, Vegetarian Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Dining at the Old Lyme Inn was part of our "All That Jazz" package. The menu was diverse and had a number of vegetarian friendly appetizers and entrees. The mushroom polenta lasagne was delicious! A great place for "date night".

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Many of us are cheering for the success of this lovely Old Lyme landmark. The menu is odd but interesting. The biggest problem is its inconsistency. Sometimes the food is wonderful but other times it falls short. The portions are also inconsistent. The service was poor at first but getting more professional. For the prices they charge they need to refine their business. We are rooting for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lyme Inn also viewed

 

Been to Old Lyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing