We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Elegant But So Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lyme Inn

Old Lyme Inn
85 Lyme St., Exit 70 I95, Old Lyme, CT 06371
+1 860-434-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Lyme Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Boston Post Rd.
Transit: Our guests visiting from the I-95 corridor (Boston to New York) may request free pick up from the Old Saybrook, Amtrak-Shoreline East train station.
Description: Our chefs work diligently to offer dishes that run the gamut from traditional selections to unique options that will challenge the way you think about food. The lunch and dinner menu, as well as the wine and cocktail list, change seasonally and employ locally grown and deliciously fresh produce, meat, and seafood; as well as farm-roasted coffee and homemade ice cream.
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Old Elegant But So Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I attended a wedding shower at The Old Lyme Inn and was impressed first by the beautiful interior and then with great wines and luncheon. The service was excellent with a very friendly staff. Each person that I talked to in our group really enjoyed their choice for lunch. This is a place that I would go back to if only to relax with friends for a drink and conversation.

There was a firepit for people to enjoy as well. That was a nice touch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    9
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely renovation, charming ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As a New Yorker and area weekender, I hoped the renovation of the Old Lyme Inn
would succeed, and I'm happy to report that it has. The exterior has always been
appealing, although previously in need of paint, but the interior rooms were formerly dark and drab.
On a winter day, the tavern and front rooms were brightly lit by the western afternoon sun.
The bartender and staff were friendly and attentive, and the oysters and Cuban sandwich were
delightful. The menu is varied, but short, and could use some embellishment. Otherwise, I enjoyed my
drink and meal, and the polite, mature ambience. Kudos to the new owners and management on
a job well done. In addition, by comparison with other local Inns/eateries, the prices seemed reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivoryton, Connecticut
1 review
“Pretty Pictures and That's it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

There's nothing more revolting in a restaurant than tasteless food. Before choosing to go to the Old Lme restaurant we looked up info on their web site . The pictures of the food presented seemed impressive. To our chagrin the food served was nothing like it was portrayed .It is not the celebrated place that it thinks it is. We googled the cook and found that we had met him at another establishment.We did not like his menu there and vowed never to return. Lightning has struck us twice.It won't happen to us again.However,credit must be given to the renovations. Daniel W.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Finally a good casual foody place in Old Lyme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We watched the renovation of the Old Lyme Inn with anticipation - and we were rewarded. The exterior is charming - and the outdoor fire pit quite inviting. The interior is very cozy - with several seating areas depending on your mood. There are several places to sit for drinks as well as table areas. Dinner featured many locally sourced items and the shrimp and grits that I had was unusual and delicious. Had a wine special (nice price) and even splurged on cinnamon ice cream. Looking forward to returning

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Old Lyme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We read the variable reviews of the Old Lyme Inn on Trip Advisor so we were a bit concerned about the quality and service since their extensive renovation last year. We are from East Lyme and did not have a reservation, so we were nervous on driving up since the parking lot was jammed pack and did not know if they could accommodate us. We had been to the restaurant prior to the renovations and were very impressed with the wonderful architectural and lighting changes to the previously dismal decor. Since we did not have a reservation and would require 90 minutes for a table, so we sat at the bar. Our bartender/server was Ally and she was absolutely outstanding. She had wonderful recommendations regarding cocktails, menu items, and dessert. I had the lemon papparadelle that was tender and flavorful. My spouse had the filet mignon which was absolutely the best, cooked to perfection - even better than Craft (in NYC). All in all, we had a wonderful dinner and fantastic service; better than any place in Old Lyme and on par or superior to the best restaurants in Old Saybrook. We will DEFINITELY be back and my spouse plans to bring his professional colleagues to the restaurant in the future. Keep up the great work!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lyme Inn also viewed

 

Been to Old Lyme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lyme Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.