We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jessie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Jessie's Restaurant
90 Halls Rd, Old Lyme, CT 06371-4406
860-434-9800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Like some other reviewers, I wish Jessie's location equaled their food, which is consistently wonderful. We/I have eaten here many times and have never, ever been disappointed in anything, including the service. They know what they're doing -- am craving their short ribs right now! Don't, don't, don't be put off by the strip mall. (It's actually a very nice strip mall.) And, Jessie's, if you ever move, please don't move far!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss Jessie's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is one of those places you'd pass up because of the location. That would be like judging a book by it's cover and a big mistake. Jessie is always on her game and a delightful person to engage as you have dinner, as we do, at the bar. She always makes the rounds at tables too.
What comes out of the kitchen is inventive, cooked perfectly and well proportioned.
Don't pass this place up as it will quickly become one of your favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a nice surprise to find this comfortable and casually upscale restaurant in the Old Lyme mall, with a menu full of creative and delicious dishes. The salads could easily feed two or three people with entrees. And the main entrees are generous too. One friend could only finish half her delicious pasta and scallop special - although another friend devoured her steak au poivre with al dente asparagus spears. The Caesar salad with a seared scallop appetizer was perfect as my entree. The scallops were done to perfection - fork-tender sweet and served with creamy sweet potatoes - and while the salad was good and had fresh cheese shavings and homemade croutons, it was the only "negative" of the evening - the dressing was a little watery and could have used a pinch more garlic. That said, save room for dessert! Our choices were Bucks ice cream or gelato; a peanut butter and chocolate pie from Florida; and a chocolate torte, a creme brulee cheesecake, or a sinfully delicious baked apple dessert with cinnamon, ice cream, and whipped cream from New York. The cost per person with a glass of wine each came to $37 each plus tip. Seating is limited so reservations are suggested. I'll definitely be back soon to this little hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, CT
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jessie's has been open for almost 2 yrs now and I'm happy to say it's been very consistent, both the food and the service. It's a small place so reservations are highly suggested. The salads are generous and all of the food is fresh. For entrees the offer pastas, fish and meat dishes and they're very accommodating about changing side dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of dining in a relatively new restaurant call Jessie’s in Old Lyme, CT. The restaurant is small but very comfortable. However, the food is the star of the show here and is just terrific. Portions are on the generous side… so go hungry. We sampled the house made potato chips that came with a dipping sauce as well as the stuffed clams. The clams were probably the best I have ever had …yum. Our Salmon dish and the Filet were cooked perfectly as ordered and left little room for dessert…But we will absolutely return to sample additional dishes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jessie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jessie's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.