We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe

Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe
34 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT 06371-2331 (Formerly Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe)
860-434-6942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Old Lyme
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We read they served a pumpkin pecan ice cream. So when ordering, the clerk said they just made a fresh batch and asked if we would mind waiting for it to soften. In the meantime we ordered their peanut butter swirl ice cream. It was so creamy and delicious! When the pumpkin ice cream was ready to eat, we couldn't believe how delicious it was. This ice cream shop is among the best we've ever been too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is a MUST visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Absolutely the best ice cream on the Connecticut coast. Hand-made in house...and the flavors...WOW. Also a good place for lunch. Soups are made every day with fresh local (when possible) ingredients. Sandwiches, wraps and salads are out of this world. They roast their own meat (beef, chicken, etc) for the sandwiches...and again, locally sourced when possible. Feels like home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The ice cream is very rich – YUM! The prices were very reasonable, and the scoops were a generous size. We loved the pumpkin caramel pecan pie! It’s amazing with chunks of pie crust in it. Friendly & helpful service. Great atmosphere…Will be back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old Lyme Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent ice cream. Pleasant service. Generous portions. Cash only. Parking on Lyme Street, which fortunately does not have a lot of traffic.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth Ct
Level Contributor
95 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream and Great food too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I love all the different and creative flavors they have. So many of them seasonal and you need to catch them when the ingredients are fresh. I love the peach ice cream. The pumpkin caramel pecan pie is amazing with chunks of pie crust in it. Ginger snap is a favorite as well as the Chai. The sandwiches are amazing. The owner told me she roasts all the meats on the premises and you can definitely taste it. Love the soups all home made too. YUM!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Lyme Ice Cream Shoppe & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.