We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant hotel, very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Greenwich to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very pleasant hotel, very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Rooms are nice size with adequate space for clothing . A discreetly placed mini-fridge and a digital preset radio/ipod dock enhance it. Nice sized TV but more channels would be desirable.
No coffee maker but complimentary coffee/tea on each floor and in the lobby make up for it.
Treats are available during the day near the reception desk. We were even given complimentary champagne when we checked in. Also in the lobby are complimentary morning pastries and newspapers ( including weekend). The lobby is a huge and gorgeous atrium with a pond and many very comfortable chairs.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got it. However it was quite far from the elevator--the rooms are sprea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    191
    93
    55
    27
See reviews for
133
132
34
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First thing's first: This hotel is incredible value. There aren't many options w/i Greenwich itself, and this one is a solid option with very reasonable rates. It's also well-located, right off the highway, nearby just about anything , you'd need -- gas, groceries, fast-food, restaurants, Dunkin Donuts. Heck, I was here for a wedding and needed a belt, and thankfully there was a mall not more than 15 minutes up the road. What a relief.

Second thing you need to know: This hotel is humongous. It looks like a castle straight out of a PBS miniseries on the outside. And inside, it's like an Embassy Suites on steroids -- interior courtrard with rooms on the perimeter -- with a slight humidity inside that leaves everything seeming a little moist. Parking is free, though, it's a hike to the front desk. And because there's a restaurant/gazebo lounge smack in the middle of the interior, there really is no direct, save-some-time path to where you want to go. So, walking from the lot to the front desk can be a hike (be warned).

Check-in is great. The desk agent was so efficient. I had originally booked two queens because the rate was cheaper. But she immediately put me into a King at the same rate. I appreciated that. However, getting to the room is a pain! Because the place is so darned big -- and probably old, so they haven't been able to add more elevators in places that would make sense. You have to walk quite a ways to get to your room.

Room itself was great. No complaints. Beds are totally comfortable. Bathroom is great. TV could use more channels, but heck I hardly ever watch TV while on the road.

Because the hotel is large, the facility hosts many events. And my stay was no exception. There were two weddings that weekend, a cultural fashion show and some teenage birthday party. There were lots of people in the building. And things got loud. There is alot of action in the hallway. The doors are not so thick that you can't hear what's going on outside. So be warned that you'll hear lots of noise even at night.

The only minor inconvenience was a staff member knocking on my door at 2 am after wheeling a rolling bed down the hallway (these are long hallways!). Surprised, I answered the door. He announced he had a rolling bed. I kinda looked at him like, "What are you doing knocking at my door this late at night?" And he immediately knew he had the wrong room. No worries. But even still, had it been a more sleep-sensitive guest, this might have been a real problem!

In any case, i'm glad I stayed here because I had a very competitive rate. But it's too big and mall-like to make me feel like i'd really go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A very large hotel, focused on business meetings and events. Modernised room was comfortable and efficient. Decor is all fairly standard stuff in muted colours. Not a lot of public space, though the large atrium is filled with plants and tinkling water.

I had breakfast off the menu - juice, poached eggs, bacon, coffee and toast came to a few cents under $40, which is far too much. The buffet would have been just a little less.

All the staff were very friendly, though this is the fourth Hyatt where I have been asked how my day is going so far....at 7:30am. Far too early to tell at that hour...

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Only 45 minutes away from NYC (or 1.5 hours in summer traffic), Hyatt Old Greenwich is a great weekend retreat! Besides for the amazing breakfast, the hotel staff is superb! The indoor pool and hot tub are great additions that make the trip even more worthwhile. Also, the hotel is close to several beaches, great restaurants, Greenwich Ave and the mall. If you want to get away from NYC for a weekend (or anywhere for that matter) I definitely recommend Hyatt Old Greenwich!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend for one night. We were in town to catch a train from Stamford to Grand Central. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive. The hotel has rooms facing the atrium and rooms facing the exterior. We received a room facing the atrium which had a great view of the gardens and palm trees. The hotel is in Old Greenwich on the border of Stamford. IT is a quick 10min drive to downtown Greenwich with great shops and restaurants. We will return next time we come to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed over a Friday evening with family and had a great time. Would do it again under the AAA rate (included bkfast for 2, kids under 12 eat free). Rooms were clean and comfortable. Pool was nice size.
Did not order room service because it was limited selection and expensive. Right down the street was Bobby's BBQ and took out from there (do not miss it, really happy with our food). $10 parking fee is ridiculous.
Had problem with reservations but was able to resolve easily. Must have been given the room furthest away from the elevator, seriously long walk. It almost felt like being in the shining because the corridor was soooo long. ask for room near elevator or no more than half way down the hallway.

Room Tip: get room close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

First, Hyatt Regency Greenwich is not actually in Greenwich. It is located in Old Greenwich on the border of a pretty gritty downtown Stamford neighborhood in the old Conde Nast printing facility. If you are coming here thinking you will be close to Greenwich, I recommend checking out other options.

The hotel itself is architecturally interesting, a retrofit of an old printing facility. There are two types of rooms -- interior rooms facing an interior glass covered courtyard which houses the Hyatt's bar and restaurant and exterior rooms which face the outside. Lighting is poor in the interior rooms which can be noisy as they overlook public areas. In stark contrast, the exterior rooms are filled with sunlight as the huge windows provide ample opportunity for daylight to stream inside.

The rooms themselves, refurbished two years ago, are quite large, very nice with ample plugs and good work space. Bathrooms have been renovated and the showers are great. The gym is very good, and there is an indoor pool. During our stay, however, the pool was overtaken by small children, many in diapers, making it useless for adults looking for a quick bout of exercise.

The single most disconcerting thing about our stay was the real disconnect between the grandiose physical plant and the clientele the weekend we were here. It appears this hotel is a magnet for families from all over New England staging weekends in New York as a result of discounted pricing. The breakfast buffet which should be a calm and relaxing event was anything but. Unsupervised kids who appeared to have little experience in a hotel or with a buffet were free to run around and to grab food with abandon, often with their hands. At one table, we saw a young girl approximately 12, bring over five heaping plates of food from each of the breakfast stations. She sampled each dish with her fingers, including the eggs, and left most of the food on the table when she left. Service was indifferent with lots of servers milling around but very few of them actually providing service. The quality of the food itself left a lot to be desired. A little bit of hands on management in the restaurant would be most welcome.

Overall, this property could be a real gem but Management needs to stick around and actually experience what guests see when they are paying for a Regency experience. Lots of room for improvement by training the staff or possibly starting again with new hires.

Room Tip: Request an exterior room with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Address: 1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Greenwich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the Stamford Business District and train station and 20 minutes from White Plains, NY. Easy access off I-95, Exit 5. Only 45 minutes by train from Manhattan. Complimentary shuttle service available within a five-mile radius. All guest rooms are wired for high-speed & Room Linx wireless internet access. Surrender to the Hyatt Grand Bed - featuring luxurious goose down pillows, triple sheeting, a thick down blanket - all piled atop a Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattress. Check-in or out with a simple touch of a screen using the Express Check-in Kiosk. Retrieve flight information and boarding pass using the Hyatt Fast Board technology. Enjoy our Stay Fit at Hyatt program at the fitness center featuring Life Fitness cardio and strengthening machines with individual flat screen TVs, as well as an indoor pool and whirlpool. Satisfy your appetite for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Winfield's Restaurant winner of the Best Sunday Brunch by Greenwich Magazine. Relax in the Gazebo Bar for a specialty cocktail and a light fare menu. Or enjoy the ultimate in convenience when you dine in the comfort of your own room with our extensive Room Service menu. Restore your spirits after a workout with a power drink or snack at our Hyatt Stay Fit Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenwich Hotel Old Greenwich
Greenwich Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Old Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Old Greenwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.