We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Greenwich to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a unique hotel as it has a huge atrium for it's restaurant and bar.
A very nice breakfast buffet. Garden and pond in the middle between the bar and the restaurant. Feels like outdoors, but isn't.
Rooms are very nice and bargain priced compared to NYC. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear 1ajf,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast buffet, and the comforting outdoorsy feeling of our atrium lobby. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    210
    100
    57
    29
See reviews for
146
150
36
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times when we visit family. We like the hotel. It has a nice lobby with a great restaurant and the rooms are nice. the location is ideal for us when we visit family in Greenwich. But on this occasion we were charged twice for the room, once to hold the room and once when we paid. it took several call to the accounting department to have the charges dropped and waiting for a reply from the accounting department was at times more than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Himelda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you are a frequent guest of ours and that you enjoy our great location, comfortable guestrooms, and nice restaurants. We are very disappointed to learn that you had issues with your billing on a recent stay with us. We hope you will view this as an isolated incident, and that you will choose Hyatt Regency Greenwich again when visiting family in the area.

Kind regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place - nice rooms, good bar, quiet, new fitness center, reasonably priced, and friendly. Not too far from downtown Stamford - the neighborhood is nice and residential - 5 min or so to the big mall down the road. Very large and can hold small conventions. Worth it if you need to come here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Andrew H.,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, our newly renovated fitness center, and our close proximity to downtown Stamford. We hope to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in the Stamford/Greenwich area.

Best regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county, ct
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My sister and I had a girl's weekend away at the Hyatt in Greenwich and had a wonderful time. Many thanks to Cesar who checked us in - he was extremely friendly and helpful (and thank you for the birthday wishes!). We also had brunch Sunday morning at Winfields - it was very good. The brunch was included with our room, but regularly it runs around $30pp, which I think is a bit high for the food.

The room was very nice - it had ample closet and drawer space, a nice size TV and good seating area. The bathroom was also very good. We especially liked the empty refrigerator which allowed us to store some snacks. Overall excellent.

One note to be aware - the hallways are VERY long in this hotel (about the longest we have seen). So if walking is an issue, you may want to make sure you are near the elevator, otherwise prepare for a big hike.

Room Tip: The hallways are VERY long in this hotel (about the longest we have seen). So if walking is an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear funtootravel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed a fun birthday weekend with your sister at our hotel. It is also great that you enjoyed your Sunday Brunch at our Winfield's Restaurant. We're happy to hear that you found our guestrooms to be spacious during your stay. We hope to welcome you and your sister back very soon.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Hyatt Greenwich (CT), with its renovated rooms is offering truly a 4 star service. It is not quite close enough to NY city to make it a viable option for NY holidays, but it is ideal for business in the Greenwich-Stamford area. In fact, you'll see that most guests are there on business.
The hotel offers a great (although a bit pricey) breakfast buffet. If you want a quick cup of coffee, this is available, free of charge in the morning on every floor.
the restaurant menu is standard hotel fare. Good, but not exceptional.
It is a shame, though, that complimentary wireless is only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much similar (I believe renovations are finished) I do prefer rooms that are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir_Top-Hat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you found our renovated guestrooms enjoyable as well as our four-star service. It is also great to know you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet, depsite that you felt the price a bit high. We hope you will choose Hyatt Regency Greenwich again the next time you find yourself in our area.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel for business travellers. Red Dot Shuttle runs a direct shared-van service between the hotel and JFK or LGA. I only stayed for one night, coming in late in the evening and checking out early the next morning. The restaurant/bar is located in the atrium, so noise could be an issue for any room located around there (the night I was there, there were several large groups congregating at the bar). My room with a king size bed was spacious and quite comfortable. The staff was uniformly pleasant and courteous. Overall, a reasonable value for the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Philosopher56,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent one night stay. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed our staff and received great service during your stay. We apologize that you experienced a noisy evening, and we hope you'll choose Hyatt Regency Greenwich again the next time you are in our area.

Best regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed for just one night here, arriving after a late into JFK and leaving early the next day. There is a pleasant bar area in the centre with an atrium feel. The staff were welcoming and efficient. I went out to explore the neigbourhood and found some good coffee shops for a light brunch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Edinburghtraveller7,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had a great one night stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our staff and our bar in our garden atrium lobby, as well as our surrounding neighborhood. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Greenwich very soon.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Address: 1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Old Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Greenwich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the Stamford Business District and train station and 20 minutes from White Plains, NY. Easy access off I-95, Exit 5. Only 45 minutes by train from Manhattan. Complimentary shuttle service available within a five-mile radius. All guestrooms are wired for complimentary high-speed & wireless internet access. Surrender to the Hyatt Grand Bed - featuring luxurious goose down pillows, triple sheeting, a thick down blanket - all piled atop a Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattress. Check-in or out with a simple touch of a screen using the Express Check-in Kiosk. Retrieve flight information and boarding pass using the Hyatt Fast Board technology. Enjoy our Stay Fit at Hyatt program at the fitness center featuring Life Fitness cardio and strengthening machines with individual flat screen TVs, as well as an indoor pool and whirlpool. Satisfy your appetite for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Winfield's Restaurant winner of the Best Sunday Brunch by Greenwich Magazine. Relax in the Gazebo Bar for a specialty cocktail and a light fare menu. Or enjoy the ultimate in convenience when you dine in the comfort of your own room with our extensive Room Service menu. Restore your spirits after a workout with a power drink or snack at our Hyatt Stay Fit Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenwich Hotel Old Greenwich
Greenwich Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Old Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Old Greenwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.