We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complicated accounting system and incorrect charges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Greenwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Old Greenwich
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Complicated accounting system and incorrect charges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed here several times when we visit family. We like the hotel. It has a nice lobby with a great restaurant and the rooms are nice. the location is ideal for us when we visit family in Greenwich. But on this occasion we were charged twice for the room, once to hold the room and once when we paid. it took several call to the accounting department to have the charges dropped and waiting for a reply from the accounting department was at times more than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Himelda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you are a frequent guest of ours and that you enjoy our great location, comfortable guestrooms, and nice restaurants. We are very disappointed to learn that you had issues with your billing on a recent stay with us. We hope you will view this as an isolated incident, and that you will choose Hyatt Regency Greenwich again when visiting family in the area.

Kind regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    166
    80
    51
    22
See reviews for
108
118
30
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, Colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great place - nice rooms, good bar, quiet, new fitness center, reasonably priced, and friendly. Not too far from downtown Stamford - the neighborhood is nice and residential - 5 min or so to the big mall down the road. Very large and can hold small conventions. Worth it if you need to come here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Andrew H.,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, our newly renovated fitness center, and our close proximity to downtown Stamford. We hope to welcome you back the next time you find yourself in the Stamford/Greenwich area.

Best regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield county, ct
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My sister and I had a girl's weekend away at the Hyatt in Greenwich and had a wonderful time. Many thanks to Cesar who checked us in - he was extremely friendly and helpful (and thank you for the birthday wishes!). We also had brunch Sunday morning at Winfields - it was very good. The brunch was included with our room, but regularly it runs around $30pp, which I think is a bit high for the food.

The room was very nice - it had ample closet and drawer space, a nice size TV and good seating area. The bathroom was also very good. We especially liked the empty refrigerator which allowed us to store some snacks. Overall excellent.

One note to be aware - the hallways are VERY long in this hotel (about the longest we have seen). So if walking is an issue, you may want to make sure you are near the elevator, otherwise prepare for a big hike.

Room Tip: The hallways are VERY long in this hotel (about the longest we have seen). So if walking is an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear funtootravel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed a fun birthday weekend with your sister at our hotel. It is also great that you enjoyed your Sunday Brunch at our Winfield's Restaurant. We're happy to hear that you found our guestrooms to be spacious during your stay. We hope to welcome you and your sister back very soon.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Hyatt Greenwich (CT), with its renovated rooms is offering truly a 4 star service. It is not quite close enough to NY city to make it a viable option for NY holidays, but it is ideal for business in the Greenwich-Stamford area. In fact, you'll see that most guests are there on business.
The hotel offers a great (although a bit pricey) breakfast buffet. If you want a quick cup of coffee, this is available, free of charge in the morning on every floor.
the restaurant menu is standard hotel fare. Good, but not exceptional.
It is a shame, though, that complimentary wireless is only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much similar (I believe renovations are finished) I do prefer rooms that are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Sir_Top-Hat,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you found our renovated guestrooms enjoyable as well as our four-star service. It is also great to know you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet, depsite that you felt the price a bit high. We hope you will choose Hyatt Regency Greenwich again the next time you find yourself in our area.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel for business travellers. Red Dot Shuttle runs a direct shared-van service between the hotel and JFK or LGA. I only stayed for one night, coming in late in the evening and checking out early the next morning. The restaurant/bar is located in the atrium, so noise could be an issue for any room located around there (the night I was there, there were several large groups congregating at the bar). My room with a king size bed was spacious and quite comfortable. The staff was uniformly pleasant and courteous. Overall, a reasonable value for the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Philosopher56,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent one night stay. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed our staff and received great service during your stay. We apologize that you experienced a noisy evening, and we hope you'll choose Hyatt Regency Greenwich again the next time you are in our area.

Best regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed for just one night here, arriving after a late into JFK and leaving early the next day. There is a pleasant bar area in the centre with an atrium feel. The staff were welcoming and efficient. I went out to explore the neigbourhood and found some good coffee shops for a light brunch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Edinburghtraveller7,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear you had a great one night stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed our staff and our bar in our garden atrium lobby, as well as our surrounding neighborhood. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Greenwich very soon.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very nice overnight stay.The staff is courteous, professional, and glad to see you! Our corner room was farthest from the elevator but nice and quiet and quite large. The room, including the very nicely appointed bathroom, was spotless. The bedside ipod dock was a welcome touch! We had a lovely dinner in the courtyard restaurant and both felt like we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Corner room is lovely! Unless the weather's bad self park and save the $22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear mponsot,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is wonderful that you were able to visit the Capitol Theatre during your stay, and that you enjoyed dinner in our atrium restaurant. We are also happy to know you made good use of the iPod dock beside your bed. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again very soon.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Address: 1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Old Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Greenwich 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the Stamford Business District and train station and 20 minutes from White Plains, NY. Easy access off I-95, Exit 5. Only 45 minutes by train from Manhattan. Complimentary shuttle service available within a five-mile radius. All guest rooms are wired for high-speed & Room Linx wireless internet access. Surrender to the Hyatt Grand Bed - featuring luxurious goose down pillows, triple sheeting, a thick down blanket - all piled atop a Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattress. Check-in or out with a simple touch of a screen using the Express Check-in Kiosk. Retrieve flight information and boarding pass using the Hyatt Fast Board technology. Enjoy our Stay Fit at Hyatt program at the fitness center featuring Life Fitness cardio and strengthening machines with individual flat screen TVs, as well as an indoor pool and whirlpool. Satisfy your appetite for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Winfield's Restaurant winner of the Best Sunday Brunch by Greenwich Magazine. Relax in the Gazebo Bar for a specialty cocktail and a light fare menu. Or enjoy the ultimate in convenience when you dine in the comfort of your own room with our extensive Room Service menu. Restore your spirits after a workout with a power drink or snack at our Hyatt Stay Fit Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenwich Hotel Old Greenwich
Greenwich Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Old Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Old Greenwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.