We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and public space, but paper thin walls between guest rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Greenwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Old Greenwich
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and public space, but paper thin walls between guest rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is very pleasant for conferences. The open atrium creates a cheerful space. The guest rooms have been tastefully renovated and updated. The only problem is that one can easily hear noise from conversations taking place in adjoining rooms even if one's neighbors are speaking at reasonable tones

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear bbmf4,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear you had a nice stay with us during a recent conference at our recently renovated hotel. It is great that you found our garden atrium lobby to be cheerful and accommodating. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether for a conference or a leisurely visit.

Kind regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    170
    82
    51
    22
See reviews for
112
119
30
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a weekend getaway at the Hyatt. I have been here before on business and really enjoyed the location. It’s a short drive from the city (40 minutes) with tons of shopping on Greenwich Ave. We opted for the romance package which included valet parking, champagne with chocolate covered strawberries delivered to the room and a breakfast voucher at Winfield’s. Our room was extremely spacious and was nicely appointed with modern updates. I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear OnRoam,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you and your wife shared a relaxing weekend with us this month. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are able to enjoy the added bonuses of our romance package, including valet parking and chocolate covered strawberries. We hope to welcome you and your wife back again soon for another weekend getaway.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I have written many reviews and have a high tolerance for errors, oversights and mistakes...I am not a complainer. I checked into this hotel on a quiet Sunday evening. There were not many guests in the lobby or bar area. At check-in I was assigned a room not knowing it was directly below the Hyatt members club. I was awakened from a sound sleep at 5 a.m. by furniture being dragged across a wooden floor right above me. For the next 3 hours I was treated to to clicking of high heals, chairs being moved and stuff being dropped on the floor. I was trapped and at the mercy of hotel staff who assigned me to the wrong room. How do you know? You can not ask for a room change at 6 a.m. My stay was miserable. I complained to the manager who said she was sorry. They refused to give me a full refund. I tried many times to get this matter resolved before writing a poor review. I deserved better and you do too. Stay away from the Hyatt Greenwich at all costs.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear gfkr2,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us recently. We hope you will view this as an isolated incident and that you will consider Hyatt Regency Greenwich again the next time you find yourself in our area.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Greenwich Hyatt on several occasions during the past year. The lobby of this hotel is truly amazing. It has the feel of a tropical environment, with lush green trees and a small waterfall. It is an extremely relaxing place to sit and have a drink, especially after a long day. The hotel is close to the Stamford train station, which offers quick access into Manhattan. It is also close to the Greenwich shopping district, which offers an assortment of high end boutiques and restaurants.

The desk in the room comes with a highly ergonomic chair, which is great when you have to finish that report at night in your hotel room. The desk also has an attached media center, with plenty of outlets for cell phones, laptops, etc. The staff at this hotel is uniformly helpful. As one would expect from a Hyatt, they go out of their way to provide superb customer service. If there is any problem, it will be fixed immediately. If for some reason it is not, the hotel will go out of its way to make it up to you. Special kudo’s to CJ, Front Office Manager, who always provides superb customer service.

This property is rated as four stars, and it truly deserves that rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear 47JeffreyA,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our tropical four story garden atrium lobby. It is always nice to know that our guests are able to take advantage of our convenient location near New York City by train, as well as the great local shopping in Greenwich. It is also wonderful that you found our guestrooms to be comfortable and convenient.
We will be sure to share your comments with CJ, our Front Office Manager. We hope to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Greenwich very soon.

Best Regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Greenwich Hyatt Regency over Christmas vacation. It's fairly convenient to New York City, well discounted for the holidays and offers a nice alternative to staying in Westchester. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. We didn't eat at the restaurants in the hotel we choose to have breakfast in very nearby downtown Greenwich instead. They did offer free coffee in front of the hotel's one bank of elevators which was a nice touch. The indoor atrium is fun for kids to see and walk around. Parking is not included and the self parking lot is in back of the hotel. Checking in and out of the hotel was easy. Since there's only one bank of elevators in the hotel be prepared for a long walk to and from your room unless you ask for one near the elevators. We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: rooms on the 2nd floor not next to, but not too far from the elevators should give you the optimal l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear G3G,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor! It is always a pleasure to know that our guests are able to spend relaxing holiday vacations with us in Greenwich. We're happy that you enjoyed the complimentary coffee that we serve on every guestroom floor each morning. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Best regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I traveled north to help our daughter and son-in-law with a kitchen renovation project. We drove some fourteen hours and met with a multitude of challenges during our pre-holiday stay. What went right for us during our one week in Connecticut, occurred by way of the staff at the Hyatt Regency in Greenwich CT, who provided exceptional and responsive service during our time with them. We travel frequently so feel qualified to share these sentiments with you. Our room was large, comfortable and well appointed. The management team were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast fare was fresh, varied and delicious. The service provided by the restaurant staff was truly exceptional. I would not hesitate to visit this Hyatt again and would highly recommend this location to all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Downtowngirl85,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback on Trip Advisor! We are happy to know that your stay was so pleasant after a very long drive to Old Greenwich. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests feel well-taken care of and are appreciative of our service standards. We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon!

Kind regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were driving from NYC to MA and wanted a stop in between. Having stayed frequently at what used to be the Hayatt Regency Bonaventure in Westin, FL, we expected to find a similar quality in the Greenwich Hyatt Regency. Unfortunately, we did not. When we arrived, I requested that a shower cap be delivered to our room, since none was provided. I was told that it would be sent right up. Forty minuytes later when we left for dinner, it had not arrived. Okay, I thought, it will be delievered while we're out. No such luck. I had to call again and explain that I needed the shower cap so I could shower before bed. This time it was delivered as promised.

We slept very well, and then we went to the breakfast buffet, priced at the amazingly high figure of $27. The Hyatt Regency Bonaventure's buffet was $15, so we experienced some sticker shock but said, "Oh well, it's Greenwich." Then we discovered that the bacon was burned, the only fresh fruits offered were oranges and apples, and the egg white omelet we ordered came with egg yolks.

Then, imagine our annoyance when we found that our bill included a charge for the Internet (which it should not have), a charge for the parking (which it should not have), and did not deduct the $25 coupon included in our reservation.

I spoke to the manager, and she was apologetic. She offered us soft drinks and a boxed lunch for our car trip, which was a nice gesture, but that hotel has serious service problems that need to be corrected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie K, Manager at Hyatt Regency Greenwich, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Glad2BDone,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are very disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expecations. It is upsetting to learn that your experience with our breakfast buffet was not up to standards. We hope this stay will not deter you from choosing Hyatt Regency Greenwich again. We would welcome the opportunity to host your accommodations again in the future.

Warm regards,
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Greenwich

Address: 1800 East Putnam Avenue, Old Greenwich, CT 06870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Old Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Old Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Greenwich 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located less than 5 minutes from the Stamford Business District and train station and 20 minutes from White Plains, NY. Easy access off I-95, Exit 5. Only 45 minutes by train from Manhattan. Complimentary shuttle service available within a five-mile radius. All guest rooms are wired for high-speed & Room Linx wireless internet access. Surrender to the Hyatt Grand Bed - featuring luxurious goose down pillows, triple sheeting, a thick down blanket - all piled atop a Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattress. Check-in or out with a simple touch of a screen using the Express Check-in Kiosk. Retrieve flight information and boarding pass using the Hyatt Fast Board technology. Enjoy our Stay Fit at Hyatt program at the fitness center featuring Life Fitness cardio and strengthening machines with individual flat screen TVs, as well as an indoor pool and whirlpool. Satisfy your appetite for breakfast, lunch and dinner at Winfield's Restaurant winner of the Best Sunday Brunch by Greenwich Magazine. Relax in the Gazebo Bar for a specialty cocktail and a light fare menu. Or enjoy the ultimate in convenience when you dine in the comfort of your own room with our extensive Room Service menu. Restore your spirits after a workout with a power drink or snack at our Hyatt Stay Fit Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Greenwich Hotel Old Greenwich
Greenwich Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Old Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Old Greenwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.