We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer and pub fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harp & Dragon Pub

Harp & Dragon Pub
130 Main St, Norwich, CT 06360
(860) 885-0147
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 97 Restaurants in Norwich
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Irish
Restaurant details
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good beer and pub fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Been to the Harp several times and just went again last night, and had the usual experience. The Harp is your typical Irish type pub, with about two dozen beers on tap and your typical pub and Irish food. I went with an old standby of pub chicken fingers and fries. Their fries are very good and they also have their specialty of "cottage chips" which are seasoned waffle type fries with a dipping sauce. Those are good for something different as well. The chicken fingers were a bit dry, but their house honey mustard is very good. My husband ended up getting the Boxty which is a potato pancake stuffed with tenderloin, onions, and with a nice sauce on top. He was very happy with his choice and the bite I tried was quite flavorful. Our friend went with the chicken ranch BLT salad, which she said was good as well. The beers were tasty, as always. The service has always been friendly enough. This is a good place to go if you are looking to just hang out with friends in a pub setting with decent food and beer. It's not fancy by any means, but it doesn't pretend to be. It's a pub, and a good one at that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I drove into Norwich from NY state for some family matters, and after a few hours in the car, we needed some good food. It was our first time to Norwich, and when we drove into the downtown area, our first thoughts were of how such New England towns are going through rough times. The classic charm of such places is there, covered by a little dust and showing years of wear and tear. Many of the businesses were shuttered and buildings vacant, but right there on Main Street sat the Harp and Dragon, beckoning to our bellies. For lunch on a weekday, it seemed a bit quiet, but then again, being on such a sleepy street won't draw the masses, I assumed. Spacious and vast, the interior of the place was of the standard pub design, which both my wife and I liked. Though it was a bit hot, and they said the AC was on its highest, the overall experience of being there was totally fine (though I wouldn't label it as "just like Ireland" as another reviewer mentioned). The food came in mounds piled high, scrumptious and hearty, as pub food should be--though it was too much for the two adults even if our kids helped out. The beer on tap, though I could just have one, was worthy of accolades, and the service was good, although I'd asked if there was an internet cafe or coffee shop with wireless in town--and the waitress who said "no" forgot to mention that they themselves had WiFi, which another customer later told us. No biggie there. Otherwise, she even called her boyfriend for us to ask for directions to our B&B, which we'd asked about. Indeed, if you are looking for good pub grub and a variety of beer on tap, the H&D is right up your alley.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Irish Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As soon as you walk in the door, you feel like you are in Ireland. The atmosphere and great food makes you want to plan a trip across the pond to visit the Emerald Isle

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Just had their Sunday morning brunch- $17 a person- and it was absolutely delicious! Prime rib, pasta and omelet stations, eggs Benedict, Belgian waffles, fruit and yogurt, sausage and bacon, home fries, sweet and regular mashed potatoes, a dessert station and a Bloody Mary bar! Everything was plentiful and well-made, service is great, especially for a buffet-type meal. Even the kids station was great! Keep an eye out for coupons in the local paper!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“take out lunch disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Ordered takeout for lunch with customers. One ordered a sandwich with NO onions - I stood next to her when she ordered. When we brought back lunch, her sandwich was loaded with onions. Her call back to complain was handled rudely - no apologies, no offers to make it right, just a rude arumentative response.
How was lunch for the remainng two? Fair at best. No forks for fries or cole slaw, no wrapping pickles to keep the juices corralled, nothing exceptional between the slices of bread. Overall, a disappointment. I would guess that if no bar business accomnpanies a food order, you're out of luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harp & Dragon Pub also viewed

 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Harp & Dragon Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harp & Dragon Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.