We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a 1 nite stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Norwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Norwich Hotel to your Saves list
The Norwich Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Otrobando Avenue, Norwich, CT 06360 (Formerly Norwich Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Okay for a 1 nite stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

HOTEL – it is located just off the highway, sort of an industrial area. Not much around. It was clean. No restaurant on site. Vending machines (drinks & snacks). Ice was located only on the 5th floor only. Plenty of parking.

ROOM – large. Old and worn, definitely in need of some repair. And better housekeeping, I found an dirty towel hanging behind the bathroom door. The vanity looked as if it was falling off the wall. There was a mini-fridge. Microwave. Coffee pot. Not much lighting, it was very dim. The phone offered buttons to dial direct to the Front Desk or Housekeeping and neither worked, you had to dial “0”. Why have a phone with those options if they don’t work. The pillows were awful, too plump. The AC was very noisy.

POOL – small. Clean. Towels offered at the pool but very tiny. Small hot tub. Sauna. Don’t expect an outdoor sundeck, as advertised, it was a 5 x 20 stairwell area.

BAR – it is only open certain days and times. I was there when it was open. It is perfect for a quick drink. No food is served, but they did offer potato chips that were served in a white Styrofoam picnic type bowls. Sort of tacky, just get some real bowls. And peanuts or goldfish would make more sense.

BREAKFAST – certainly enough options for all. Eggs. Sausage. Oatmeal. Breads (muffins, bagels, English muffins). Cereal. Yogurt. OJ & Apple juice. Coffee & tea.

SERVICE – while friendly, not very helpful. I was trying to watch a baseball game on FOX, which is a basic TV channel. The channel was not working and the front desk didn’t care to even attempt to help. I was told to just leave it on that channel and maybe it would come on.


I’d stay again if I had to, it was fine for a late arrival early departure the next day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    29
    24
    53
See reviews for
35
73
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Comfort Suites. Check in was quick and painless, as I had a reservation, even though the receptionist, who was doing a great job flying solo, was processing the entire Trinity College baseball team! Our king suite room was clean and comfortable.(To be honest, I receive a military discount, so my room was more than reasonably priced). The shuttle to and from the Mohegan Sun was spot on, and we were back and forth to the casino and the hotel in no time. Only downfall was that the jacuzzi was the same temperature as the pool - just a bit chilly. Morning breakfast was awesome! Overall would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at the Comfort Suites this past weekend. The staff was very nice and friendly (on the phone and in person). We checked in quickly with ease. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The only issue that I have was the hotel needs some minor upgrades. The wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling, the carpets in the lobby were a little shabby/ dirty. But we were there on a busy weekend and the hotel was packed. I would definitely recommend this place. The price is right, they have a shuttle to the casino and a nice hot breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I visited this property with my boyfriend in November 2011. Our preference was staying on-site however when checking the prices, rooms were $600+ for one night. On a budget, we decided to stay at the Comfort Suites Norwich due to the close proximity of the hotel to Mohegan Sun and the complimentary shuttle. Please note - you must make your reservation in advance for the shuttle- they book up quickly especially on busy weekends! The rooms were large, clean and comfortable, perfect for anyone looking to visit the casino at a decent price. We got a cab on the way back since it was after 2 AM (shuttle stops at 2AM) and paid $25 with tip. Staff was very friendly and helpful - would definitely stay again when visiting Mohegan. Breakfast was complimentary until 10AM - unfortunately we were not out of bed by this time :) would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very nice hotel for the price and much cheaper than the hotel at Mohegan Sun. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the casino, as well as a complimentary breakfast which included juice, coffee, toast, eggs, waffles, etc. The room was spacious, with two beds, as well as a loveseat, coffee table and desk. The ride to the casino is about 10-15 minutes. Very convenient!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Make sure you have good directions to this place, as it can be a bit hard to find, depending on which direction you are coming from.

Check in was fast, parking was plentiful. We arrived at 10:00 pm and was able to park only 5 spots from the front door. Luggage carts are available and elevators are close.

Rooms are large and very clean. We stayed on two, non-consecutive nights. The first night the "sitting area" was at the far end of the room. Had never seen it that way before and it seemed hard to use. Nothing I can put my finger on, but.... Second stay had it in the normal position. Both rooms had two nice double beds, with bug encasements on the mattresses. (If you don't know, its a good thing to have.) Nice love seat/ hide-a-bed, desk, chair, tv cabinet with a microwave and fridge. Wish they would put more than one chair, but at least we had the love seat.

Hotel was very quite, even with the bar open down stairs.

Breakfast included the standard cold dishes, plus waffles, eggs and a meat dish. Breakfast area is spacious. Hotel includes conference rooms, but we did not use them. The kids loved the indoor pool as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonachie, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The room wasnt our focus for our stay in Conn., we needed to find something close to our Daughter and grandaughter so we can spend July 4, 2011 with them in Colechester, CT. The weather that day was treturous from NJ, so it took us longer then expected. We arrived late, spent aprrox 30 min in the room, got changed, and drove to our daughters home. When we arrived back to our room aroundf 10:00PM I had to use the bathroom and when I flushed the toliet it overflowed. I was never so imbarrased in my life so I took off the toilet bowl tank cover and never seen so much rust in my life, n had no clue how to stop the overflow. Needless to say, they were under staffed and as SG said the manager should not have been dealing with people, OMG was she mad when she entered my room, she put towels down in my bathroom and i laughed, r u kidding me i could have done that myself, the rug to the door was wet, at that point she took the easy way out and made false accusations of smoking in the room, just so she could kick us out, sad and weak manager, no people skills. But guess what, she can be as nasty as she wants because this Comfort Suite is Family Independtly owned and she will not be responsbile for reimbursing you when you are not satisfied with the room, this Manager/Owner would love to see you leave, no matter what time if the night!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#2 of 5 in Norwich
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cristata Inn
BEST WESTERN Cristata Inn
#4 of 4 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Norwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norwich Hotel

Address: 275 Otrobando Avenue, Norwich, CT 06360 (Formerly Norwich Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Norwich Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
119 room all suite property with a country decor. FREE Wireless High Speed Internet access. Comfort Suites offers deluxe continenal breakfast and comp shuttle to and from Mohegan Sun Casino. The hotel also has an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and lounge. All guestrooms have a refrigerator, iron & ironing board, coffee & coffee maker, cable, HBO ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Norwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Norwich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.