We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Norwich to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Norwich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 West Town Street, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed here for a trip to the Mohegan Sun casino over the summer. I had a great time. The rooms were wonderful and clean. The staff was very helpful since we came in from out of town and didn't know the area very well. We had a blast at Mohgan Sun all weekend - the hotel is only a few minutes away and they were very accomidating to our group by offering a shuttle service to and from the casino. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    41
    12
    15
See reviews for
37
74
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed at the Rosemont for my first time last week... needless to say it is now a personal favorite of mine...
shuttle to the casino, clean rooms, and an accommodating staff...
and i won at the casino :o)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton,Ct
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

I stayed at this hotel just last weekend for a girls weekend. All in all it ended up being a good weekends. The staff was very nice when we checked in, asking if we need to sign up for the ride to the casino. The hotel is clean and for the most part very nice, all though for the price we paid for our king whirlpool rooms was not worth it. I had to change rooms twice, The first time was because the tv in my room did not work, I was then moved to another room (also a king whirlpool room) also a very clean room, but this time the whirlpool did not have any hot water (i mean like zero). So again they moved me, the 3rd times a charm, I was moved to a nice room with a working tv working whirlpool and I nice size balcony. All in all I was pleased with this hotel, but I think I would have been a little more happy if we would have just sucked it up and stayed at the casino. This is a smoke free hotel which was just fine for me as a smoker there are 3 or 5 outside area's for smokers and you may smoke on your balcony.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Ct
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I stayed at the Marriott in Norwich the last weekend of Feb 09. I remember during the night brushing something off my leg, but didn't give it a second thought. Now I am on two types of medication because I have a huge disgusting looking bite on my leg. Whatever this bed bug was has left a major impression on my leg. My doctor said it is not a tick bite although there is a bright red circle around it and it is almost like a hole in my leg where it bit me. My doctor is concerned about it and I have to go back to see him in 4 days. It is truly disgusting looking - kind of like it is eating my skin. I certainly hope I didn't bring any home in my luggage.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

i expected more from a marriott residence inn. this one has thin towels, and cheap toilet paper. two of the mornings i was awakened to truck drivers leaving their rigs, with engines on, for over an hour, while they ate breakfast. and speaking of trucks, the hotel is near a highway, so be prepared to listen to constant noise. in addition the rooms are very small, and breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

This is the fourth or fifth time I've stayed at this hotel and I have been entirely pleased with each stay.

Working as an operational excellence engineer, it is not often that I hang out the Service Excellence flag, but this hotel and staff definitely deserve my compliments.

Each stay, I've payed apx. $150 a night, and EACH time they've extended the courtesy of an upgrade to a King bed suite with Jacuzzi for free.

The shuttles to the casino are timely and friendly.

The breakfast is amazing, and affordable. I'd pay $30, I think it costs $12.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

I stayed at the Courtyard as Mohegan was charging more than double for the night. Check-in was easy and everyone at the front desk was nice. She gave me the shuttle times in a wallet sized paper to take with me and told me I should make reservations. Later, I asked her where we got the vouchers I had read about and she said, "You get them when you get to the casino."

We ended up driving to Mohegan b/c we were catching a late show and didn't know what time we'd be back. When I got to Mohegan and asked for the vouchers, they said they don't give them out. I called the front desk and repeated what she had told me, that I got the vouchers at Mohegan. She then told me I had to take the shuttle to get the vouchers, which is the part she left out. I guess it was a miscommunication!?!

I had a room with two double beds and it was spacious. The beds were comfortable and there was more than enough room. The bathroom was a nice size too. The toilet and tub/shower were seperate and the sink/vanity was outside. This works well if someone is trying to get ready while someone else is showering. Everything was clean & there were no complaints. I passed by the indoor pool, which was small but an okay size. The gym was tiny.

I didn't give the hotel an "excellent" b/c I'm not sure why the girl didn't tell me I had to take the shuttle bus. Also, it was nice and clean but not top of the line. For the price, cleanliness and proximity to the casino I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Location, price, clean rooms
  • Disliked — Can't say I didn't really like it.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Norwich

Address: 181 West Town Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Norwich Hotel Norwich
Courtyard Norwich
Norwich Marriott
Norwich Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.