We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable - Well Kept Courtyard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Norwich to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Norwich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 West Town Street, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable - Well Kept Courtyard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

So, it's a Courtyard by Marriott. If you adjust your expectations so as not to expect any "frills", it fine. The rooms are adequate, the beds comfortable, flat screen TV in the room and a climate control system that works well. Service was fine as well. They brew Starbucks coffee in the lobby which is a big plus for me as well. Parking is adequate and the room as pretty quiet. My 3 star rating is as compared to all other hotels. However, as compared to other Courtyard's, this is one of the better ones I have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    65
    42
    12
    15
See reviews for
37
75
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Staff was excellent! Friendly, personable and courteous. Everyone went the extra mile to be accommodating. We had asked for a pack-n-play, the one we received was in rough shape. An employee promptly brought a different one when we asked. They also asked where we would like rom to be located in the building when we checked in-which I have never experienced. S that was a nice touch.

As the picture advertises, the lobby is clean and modern. Plenty of seating for meals. There was a high chair, a lifesaver!!!

Very close to the casinos, Old Mystic, and the Mystic Aquarium.

Our room needed a little work. Very dated and a little beat up. There was too much unnecessary furniture for such a small space. We would have rathered a microwave and a small refrigerator, than all the side tables and the couch. Lighting in the bathroom was terrible, very yellow. It would be okay if your are a man-but we women have make up to apply :). It could have been a little cleaner, rug weekend tough to vacuum and the tub needed a rinse before it was used.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We decided to stay near the casinos and didn't want to pay thru the roof! Unfortunately in that area it is expensive especially on the weekends! This hotel was right in between both Foxwoods and Mohegan. The back road to Foxwoods was 15 min and highway to Mohegan about the same. Front desk was very friendly and I believe they have a shuttle to them! As for the rooms the balcony is a nice touch and the beds were comfortable. Everything was extremely clean and well kept. Very imressed. When my boyfriend the neat freak comments on how clean I know its a keeper! Plus they have free fresh popcorn in the lobby upon arrival!! Nice touch!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE USA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

In today's environment, when everyone seems 'too busy to be nice' it is truly appreciated that every (EVERY) staff member that I interacted with or passed in the hallway was courteous, helpful (knowledgeable) and personable. I've stayed here Mon-Fri for two weeks, now and am impressed that personnel are customer service oriented. This hotel's location is just off 395 and a convenient drive to Mohegan Sun (I am not a casino fan) for a variety of restaurants & shops.
Thank you, Marriott for your Customer Service training and hiring kind, considerate employees.
You get my raves all day long!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I checked in late on a business trip and the service desk employee must have noticed how exhausted I looked. I was upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite which was nice! I didn't want to get in the tub, though. It was a little dirty -- hairs in the tub and obvious that no one used it in a while. I had a good night's sleep even though it was the first room from the lobby on the first floor. The room was generally clean. The door to the room didn't shut all the way but I felt secure enough anyway. This place tries very hard to stay clean and quiet. I enjoyed the hot breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We've stayed at the Norwich Courtyard Marriott a number of times throughout the past 10 years for family events and visits. It continues to be an affordable and nice place to spend a night or two. While the rooms are standard hotel rooms, they are clean and comfortable. The breakfast from the Bistro in the front lobby was good and the staff is pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked this hotel for a night after seeing the value of this hotel vs staying right at Mohegan. The best thing about this property is the shuttle which is about a 10-15 minute drive to the casino. You do have to book the shuttle in advance. Parking is easy and free. Upon checking in the lobby looked quite welcoming. They had 2 people at check-in, a small market behind reception as well as a small bar. Additionally there was a large flat screen as well as a seating area further in which could be great when waiting for the shuttle or meeting friends and/or family before you go out. We were on the first floor and for the most part the hotel was quiet. We had a standard room with double beds which was a nice comfortable size for 2 people. The only weird thing was when we asked the front desk person to recommend a dinner spot, she said that most of the upscale restaurants at Mohegan would be booked since it was a Friday night. When I called Ballo, the Italian restaurant, they said they could accomodate us no problem. I wish she would have offered to at least try and call on our behalf before discouraging us from making a reservation. Other than that, it was fine, and made seeing a concert at Mohegan easy and affordable. Would go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Norwich

Address: 181 West Town Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Norwich Hotel Norwich
Courtyard Norwich
Norwich Marriott
Norwich Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.