We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and hospitable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norwich

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Norwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Norwich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 West Town Street, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Norwich
massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very convenient and hospitable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Meeting up with friends for a weekend casino getaway, we saw some nice reviews for the location of this hotel. We were due to check in at 3:00 pm but got an early start to the day and arrived at 10:30 a.m. Carrie, the very pleasant front desk representative, checked us in and said our rooms were ready. We were shocked that we were able to access the rooms that early! This started the weekend off great. Carrie told us about the free shuttle and booked us on the shuttle both to and from Mohegan. Stormin Norman was the driver and he was so pleasant and entertaining, right down to his booming voice singing the Italian songs. Rooms were extremely clean and bed was comfortable. Only complaint was how hot the room got in the middle of the night and as there are no thermostats, we could not control the temperature. The new lobby is very inviting and when we first arrived and checked in, we had a bite to eat before we headed to the casino. There is a lovely sitting area with a fireplace and free coffee is available all the time. Check out was a breeze. Overall, we were thrilled with the accommodations here and even though it is not a typical "Marriott" with the cozy comforters and all the comforts of home, we were quite happy with our stay and its convenient location to the casinos and the free shuttle and the very hospitable staff.
We were not here long enough to use the spa or pool facilities. I rated the spa excellent although we didn't even see the spa, but based on everthing else at this hotel, it couldn't possibly be bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
28
69
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed here many times, very clean. The staff is amazingly friendly, they have a shuttle bus to mohegan sun, make your reservation as soon as you get there, it books quickly. If you are lucky enough to have storming norman, he will entertain you the entire way there. The pool and hot tub are a plus. So convenient with the am coffee, and breakfast in the lobby.. Would not stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Fells
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Courtyard by Marriott is about a 15-minute drive from Mohegan Sun. The hotel provides a convenient shuttle bus. Who needs to pay Mohegan Sun hotel prices when booking a room? This hotel is right off the highway. The lobby is modern-looking and open. There was free coffee and several computers for guests. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was spacious and clean, with a balcony overlooking the parking lot and a firm, comfortable bed. Who needs more than this? Plus, there was a pool and jacuzzi tub on the lower level. Breakfast was not included. Parking was kind of difficult when you got back from the casino after midnight. The only remaining spaces were in the rear of the hotel and my card-key didn't work in the back entrance. Otherwise, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I'm glad to read you enjoyed the casino and it's close proximity to our hotel. I'm also pleased to learn you were satisfied with our accommodations and services we offer! I couldn't agree with you more on our friendly and helpful Front Office Team! They are the first you see when guests arrive to our hotel; and it is our Associates who really make the guest experience an enjoyable one. I'm glad yours was enjoyable!

If you ever come back to Mohegan Sun or are traveling in our area, please come back and visit us!

Kara Spinnato
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I won a two night stay at this Marriott and we booked it with their front desk a few weeks earlier.
When we arrived the manager insisted they could NOT honor our free 2 nights because we had booked incorrectly with the 1-800 office. We even explained that the front desk tole us to come early so we could stay in the "newer" building - proving we had indeed talked to their front desk. The manager still insisted we did not "understand." and repeated that several times to us!! We also told the manager the front desk even talked to their Sales person who was listed on our gift certificate to confirm that the 2 free nights were legitimate.
This manager told us we could pay 50% of going rate but we could not stay for free as our voucher and reservations told us!! We had traveled for 3 hrs- dropped a child off to a relative for
The weekend and were exhausted to have this horrible customer service interaction at this Marriott!!!

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS MARRIOTT TO ANYONE!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I'm truly sorry for the frustration this experience has caused. Even though there was a mix up, it’s clear that the situation could have been handled much better. Kindly contact me at your convenience at 860-886-2600 or Jminas@waterfordhotelgroup.com so we can discuss this matter together and work to make it right.

Kind Regards
Joanne Minas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norwich hotels

Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Since we were celebrating our anniversary at Mohegan Sun we decided to stay at the Courtyard. We both felt it was worthy of the Marriott name and at least equal to other Courtyards we have stayed in. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the lobby was modern and nicely done. The room was clean, updated and comfortable - we enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend for anyone who needs to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear neo36:
Thank you so much for writing a review and letting us know about your recent visit while celebrating your anniversary! I'm happy to read you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the accommodations, overall cleanliness and most importantly our friendly Staff! I will be sure to share your comments with our entire Team!

I'm glad you had a wonderful anniversary; I hope you will come back and visit us again!

Joanne Minas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a great time at Mohegan Sun and the Courtyard hotel was very nice and we even had a balcony. Not much of a veiw but nice to sit out and have a cup of coffee. Our room was clean and the staff was friendly. Easy drive to Mohegan Sun and some other shopping like TJ Maxx and a great little surplus shop just down to road from Markus Plaza.

Room Tip: Don't get the coffee at in hotel Starbucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at the Courtyard Friday September 21st. Lobby is new and nicely done. Lobby staff were friendly and attentive. Shuttle to Mohegan Sun is included and well run. We found the room to be dirty and not up to Marriott standards. We noted hair in the tub and bathroom floor, a soda stain on the toilet cover, unknown stain in the carpet, and cigarette butts all over the balcony. The bath towels were thin and rough. For the money we were disappointed and would not stay her again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whgecomm, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Gavin249:
Thank you for your candidness and taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. I appreciate all feedback and comments from our Tripadvisor Community as we strive to continually improve our services and hospitality. I'm sorry to read about the housekeeping issues you encountered while you were here, and I will address them with our Housekeeping Department. I am pleased however to learn you were happy with the lobby area, shuttle service and most importantly our friendly Staff! I will be sharing your comments with our entire Team.

Kind Regards
Joanne Minas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Norwich

Address: 181 West Town Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Norwich 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Norwich Hotel Norwich
Courtyard Norwich
Norwich Marriott
Norwich Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.