We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, and comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Norwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Norwich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Laura Boulevard, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Norwich
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, and comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Got this room through Priceline and was VERY HAPPY. Our room was big and clean and the beds were comfortable. The only small problem was a lack of towels when we checked in, but we told the front desk on our way out and when we returned a full set of towels was in our room.

Basically what previous reviewers said was true for us too. Great room and great location to the casinos. Visited Foxwoods and Mohegan sun. Also within easy driving distance is a shopping area along rte 82 with an array of stores.

I took pictures but won't upload them as they look exactly like the pictures that have already been uploaded. This is definitely a great place to stay for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    55
    35
    19
    26
See reviews for
32
62
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I live on Eastern Long Island and had a business meeting in Boston on Wed. 6/17. We decided to leave on Tuesday and have some fun at Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun too. We stayed in Norwich because of it's proximity to both casinos. We were very happy with our room on the 6th floor. It was quiet and clean. Easy to get onto 395 in either direction. I would stay again. The staff was more than pleasant and the bar was fun too!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for business one weekend in October 2008. My laptop was stolen right out of my room. To this day (May 2009) I am trying to get reimbursed. It is obvious at this point that they are covering up that someone from their hotel stole my laptop.

Be advice - Do NOT stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Stayed for one night for a trip to Mohegan. Check-in was a breeze and the room was very large and extremely comfy (king non smoking.) The room was clean as well as what parts of the hotel we saw. Price was steep (over 300 for a saturday night) but unstandable with its proximity to the casino. Free shuttle was helpful (even tho having to pick when you will leave and come back is inconvenient) and they give you a 10 dollar coupon for gaming or food.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

We chose this hotel because of the location in regards to Mohegan Sun. The hotel is right off the highway and a short 5 minute ride from the casino. I would recommend staying here if you are planning to go to Mohegan Sun.They offer free shuttle service (the van seats approx 15 people and fills up fast so plan to arrive early and reserve your seats on the shuttle), along with a free buffet dinner at Mohegan and $10pp to gamble in a certain area of the casino. The room was fine, clean and roomy. Our only complaints were these loud clanging noises that sounded like heating pipes that woke us up early and kept us awake. Also they ran out of hot water for showers in the morning right before check out. The front desk was very accomodating and adjusted our room rate because of these two problems. The breakfast buffet was edible but nothing special and would probably check out a different restaurant in the future. The lounge/bar is quiet and could use a little updating and music. We did not check out the indoor pool. It is not a fancy hotel and the location right off the highway is not scenic or pretty, but the rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Not a bad deal for what we paid.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We used priceline to book at this hotel for a weekend at Mohegan Sun. I had never stayed there before but I got a great deal. Staying there was a great experience. The hotel was very clean, clearly renovated. The room was one of the nicest I have seen and the bathroom was perfect. The shuttle service to Mohegan was helpful and the drive was under five minutes. No complaints whatsoever...
And the next morning after a fresh night of snow, we awoke to find that everyone's car had been brushed off!!! Talk about service!
I won't hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Liked — Very nice rooms, clean bathrooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

I have not yet stayed at this hotel, but so far my customer service experience has been terrible. One of the most important things to find at a hotel is hospitality. I don't feel good about this stay at all. See below for the complaint I lodged at Holiday Inn.com:

I had looked into booking a room at the Holiday Inn in Norwich for New Years Eve, thanks to its proximity and free shuttle to Mohegan Sun, where I am attending a concert. Due to the structure of the website, I was under the impression that I would be charged a flat rate of 110.95 per night, both for 12/31 and 1/1. The different price for NYE ($255) was not made clear to me until after I hit "Submit."

I had read and understood that, as this was an 'Advanced Purchase' rate, cancellations were not allowed. However, I agreed to this provision based on the rates I thought I was getting, which was $110.95 per night. The website did not make the pricing overtly clear until after my reservation was made.

Directly after I realized the mistake, I called the hotel in question. The woman I talked to told me to call back the next day, when her manager, Richard, would be in. I called Richard the next day, explained my dilemma, and even emailed him a screen-shot of what I saw on my computer and how the higher price of $255 was not made clear to me. Richard told me he would look into this and call back. After a couple of days, I called him back. He still insisted he could not help me or cancel my reservation.

This experience is incredibly frustrating to me. I chose this hotel based on the excellent rates that I thought I was seeing on the screen. I had no problem agreeing to the no-cancellation provision as I definitely am coming to Mohegan that night and didn't think I could find a better rate. I feel as though the website was not clear on the price (or the tax, for that matter... there was also a notice that said tax was not included for the nights Dec 31-Jan 2), and mislead me into paying a fee that I was not prepared to pay.

Richard's unwillingness to budge when clearly a mistake had been made, has caused me to look very unfavorably upon the hotel. I do not wish to undermine the fine print that I agreed to when making the reservations. I just wish that what I had seen on the site had been honored, or that the website made itself absolutely clear on the fares they were charging before binding me into such a contract.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: 10 Laura Boulevard, Norwich, CT 06360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for work or play, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Norwich is the perfect destination conveniently located off 1-395, exit 80 with spacious rooms and 8,000 sq.ft. of meeting space. Newly renovated guest rooms offer comfortable pillow top beds, HDTVs, microwave, refrigerators & free WiFi. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or re-energize in our fitness center. Dine in for lunch, dinner or to grab a drink in Scorzz Sports Bar & Grill. Scorzz also offers 13 HDTVs, pool tables, dart, shuffle board and other electronic games. With daily shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino only 3 miles away and close proximity to Foxwoods and Mystic plus several beaches, you will find that there’s plenty to do from playing by the seashore to testing your luck! *Daily complimentary shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino is available on a first come, first serve basis and must sign-up with the Front Desk at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.