We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Gross” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Norwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Norwich to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Norwich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Laura Boulevard, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Pretty Gross”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here last night and I feel compelled to write a review because people deserve a chance to be warned. First of all, the initial impression is nice. We stay at Holiday Inns and HIE's on a regular basis. I was happy to see that it was a newly updated one. At first glance everything looked great! Our room initially was perfect. And then I noticed that it looked like a painting or mirror that was above the desk had either been stolen, broken, or removed, yet there were still brackets on the wall where it had been previously. Weird, but not necessarily gross. Then I moseyed on into the bathroom and was disgusted to see that the toilet hadn't been cleaned in WEEKS at the very minimum. There was a gelatanous, brown substance (ahem) all around the toilet. It was so gross. I wanted to clean it, but there was no toilet brush. The best was yet to come! I sat on the bed and lo and behold, there's ANOTHER brown substance on the blanket. Are you kidding me!? I find it hard to believe that someone could have overlooked this while making the bed. It was extremely obvious. I would have complained and requested a room switch but we had plans to go to the Casino since it was New Years Eve. We were even more irritated when we found out that the next available shuttle to the casino wouldn't be for another TWO hours. The shuttle was the whole reason we stayed here....so that we wouldn't be drinking and driving. Whatever. This hotel is NOT up to Holiday Inn standards. It's deceiving and at first glance might looked "refreshed" but it is certainly not clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to share your concerns with us and are sincerely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are currently having an issue with hard water rust type stains and unfortunately it sounds like your room was one that has not yet been attended too. As for your other concerns, please be aware that we have taken the appropriate steps in our housekeeping department to ensure that issues are addressed at the inspection level to prevent future situations.
Again our most sincere apologies for your inconveniences during your recent stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    65
    44
    22
    29
See reviews for
38
76
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn since it was close to Mohegan Sun where we were attending the recent Prince concert. The rate was fair... Easy check in... Free drink on arrival... Free shuttle to the casino.... Comfortable room...great beds and pillows. Called Down to get some food to go from the busy sports lounge and the food was packed up and ready as promised. No complaints would go back any time.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express your satisfaction surrounding your recent stay with us! We appreciate your comments and the staff always finds it rewarding to hear that a guest really enjoyed their experience! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Easy to get to from highway. Check-in was smooth and front desk agent was friendly. Room and bathroom were clean. Pool was accurate from picutres. Shuttle service to/from Mohegan Sun was efficient. Overall, this property is what you expect from the Holiday Inn brand and would definately stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Jon,
Thank you for your nice comments as we love to hear when our guests have truly enjoyed their experience with us! We strive to provide each guest with a stay that exceeds their expectations and it is rewarding to the stafff to know they succeeded. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I honestly was surprised that the hotel was as beautiful, clean and just felt so comfortable as it was.

My service was excellent. Took the shuttle bus to the casino and the driver was so nice. The front desk girl was very pleasant and helpful.




Room Tip: I will be truly honest, we slept so good we showered and were out the door. When we both were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Marilyn.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review as we truly appreciate our guest's feedback.
Upon speaking with my operations manager, we were able to check all of our websites and we did find an error in the directions. We sisncerely apologize for your inconvenience during your travel to the hotel. Please be assured that the error has been rectified and again we value your information so that we may continue to provide great guest's experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was a quick stay for us for an overnight business trip. The Good before the bad and the ugly. Clean King Executive room; pleasant front desk clerk; pleasant hotel workers in the restaurant for breakfast . The bad : First, the IHG website needs to correct their driving directions that it tells customers to print . It reads " Getting off from 1-395 South to exit 80 at end of ramp take a left." We took a left and went for 2 miles before turning around. It was night and not easy to see. It should read take a right off exit 80 and then a right at the lights to Laura Blvd, then take another right. When we told front desk clerk she was unaware. We checked in, then left hotel to return 3 hours later. She said the back office manager told her to tell me I had my GPS wrong, and we put in wrong Blvd address. A bit odd since instead of taking time to come out of the back she made an assumption that was incorrect. Also, she didn't check to see that IHG had the wrong information on the hotel website. The ugly : When we were in the room at night, the bathroom sink didn't drain properly. Since it was late we didn't call front desk; At 5:30 the next am, upon using the toilet, the water in toilet went to bottom of bowl, then filled up to the top and overflowed on the floor. It was a mess. So we checked out earlier than expected. We told the front desk manager who was very pleasant and did comp us for 2 full breakfasts for our troubles. All in all, hotel was fine, a bit dated, but it need to make some changes that will assist in a more pleasant stay. No one wants to guess where the hotel is after driving 3 hours in the car, especially at night, then to be corrected .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Marilyn,
Thank you for taking the time to do your review and informing us of the problem with our directions. After reviewing the websites with my Operations Manager we were able to locate the error and recfiy the situation. We strive to provide great servives to our guests to appreciate your information so that we may contiue to do so.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a very nice Holiday Inn. It is very pleasing and the service was excellent. A great place to crash away from the casino hotels, delivering a bit of calmness. The rooms are warm and refreshing, offering good place to relax or work. There is a nice indoor pool if that is your thing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank You Cal for your great comments and we were so pleased to hear that your truly enjoyed your stay with us! Please know that your remarks will be shared with the staff as they strive to provide great guest services and are always pleased to know that a guest took the time to share their thoughts.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn - Norwich because we went to a concert at Mohegan Sun. It was very easy to find - right off the highway. Check - in was fast, efficient, and friendly! They even provided free beverages and snacks! We signed up for the free shuttle service to and from Mohegan Sun, which was very nice to have!! The room was clean and comfortable - the only thing we needed were more pillows, which were brought to us upon request. We will definitely stay here again when attending any events at Mohegan Sun!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Norwich, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments! We truly appreciate them and are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guests again whenever you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Norwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Norwich

Address: 10 Laura Boulevard, Norwich, CT 06360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Norwich 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are here for work or play, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Norwich is the perfect destination conveniently located off 1-395, exit 80 with spacious rooms and 8,000 sq.ft. of meeting space. Newly renovated guest rooms offer comfortable pillow top beds, HDTVs, microwave, refrigerators & free WiFi. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool or re-energize in our fitness center. Dine in for lunch, dinner or to grab a drink in Scorzz Sports Bar & Grill. Scorzz also offers 13 HDTVs, pool tables, dart, shuffle board and other electronic games. With daily shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino only 3 miles away and close proximity to Foxwoods and Mystic plus several beaches, you will find that there’s plenty to do from playing by the seashore to testing your luck! *Daily complimentary shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino is available on a first come, first serve basis and must sign-up with the Front Desk at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Norwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norwich Hotel Norwich
Norwich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Norwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.