We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not easy to find, worth the search” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seafood Etc

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Seafood Etc
646 Boswell Ave, Norwich, CT 06360-2831
860-886-9377
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 104 Restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Brewster, NY
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not easy to find, worth the search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I think that this place does a better business in the warmer weather, but 2/16/13 in the snow we had an excellent lunch.
my husband got the fish sandwich and the clam chowder, I had fresh oysters and the hot lobster roll. yum just perfect. This is not an oyster bar, when I was buying the oysters at 11:45 am on a Saturday and asked, "can somebody open them?" well, they accommodated me, cut up some fresh lemon and let me suck them down on the bench... Perfect breakfast of champions! The hot lobster roll was a little bready... who cares with staff as competent and amazing as this? the place was just opening and the staff took time to let my husband taste his clam chowder to see if the temperature was perfect.
If you are in the area for an event at the local casinos....get your dinner here and enjoy it in your hotel room!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Food is great - and it is more than a seafood market - they do have great takeout food - primarily fried seafood sandwiches and dinners. Chowders, and prepared foods also available, including some homemade desserts. There is some small outdoor seating available, but the venue isn't exactly scenic. Prices are great, lower than most comparable restaurants. The staff are friendly and the service very reliable - have been coming here for years. The hours are very limited - Closes at 6 or 7:00 in the evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We walked into the shop near closing time and the staff fried us 2 orders of fish and chips, excellent! The orders where so large we could have split one order and been very satisfied.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood done right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Awesome menu, awesome food. Fresh fish. Family run and laud back. We love doing take out!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try it!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Not only can you get great fresh take-out to cook at home, but Seafood Etc. has chowder and many cooked dished for you to take home. The fried clam strips are the tastiest, long-lasting crispest I've ever had! Even after they've been in the fridge for awhile, they are not soggy!!! How do they do that????

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Etc also viewed

Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 
Norwich, Mystic Country
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Seafood Etc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seafood Etc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.