We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, pleasant service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Fiore

Bella Fiore
543 W Thames St, Norwich, CT 06360-7135
(860) 887-9030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 95 restaurants in Norwich
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
new hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food, pleasant service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

okay, okay...we went on a late sunday afternoon, before the DJ was due to show up in the club (somewhere in the back of the bar...). Sort of the middle of nowhere, how good could it be? pretty good, indeed, zuppa di pesce with good gravy (the red, but oil would have been good, too -- there's a unshrinking hand with garlic in the kitchen) , calamari, scallops, clams, mussels done right (easier said than done, in many places...). the salmon with a cream sauce was rich and good. interesting specials, varied and reasonable wine list, relaxed, unhurried staff; pleasant, unobtrusive service, no one at our table had chicken in any form, but rumor has it that this house does chicken especially well. stands to reason -- if they can do fish/shellfish right they can probably do most anything right. good marinara--and that's the point, isn't it? we'll go back more than once.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    38
    7
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by the innkeeper at Captain Grant's 1754, a lovely B&B about five miles away. We were quite happy with this small and beautifully decorated restaurant, loved the waterfall. Everything we had was delicious. My husband had the chicken pizaola (their spelling), compared to Mario's, on Arthur Ave., ("Little Italy", in The Bronx) just as good. That is saying something! For dessert we had to have Tiramisu, because my husband has to compare it at every Italian restaurant we go to and it was right up on top. The zabaglione with fresh strawberries caught my eye. So glad we got that, too. It was made table side. Absolutely awesome, loved it and the waiter/saucier left the pot for us to finish. This on its own is enough reason to return. And if you happen to live anywhere in the Metropolitan New York area you will think they forgot to add half the meal to the bill. The only thing we would like to see change is the music. A little Italian music to eat a beautiful Italian dinner by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dark inside, needs new decor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, however we all thought too much salt. Excellent service. Needs new interior - think Rainforest Cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food, interesting experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were in the area for a conference and were directed to Bella Fiore by the front desk staff at our hotel, We were a little nervous when we arrived - there were no cars in the parking lot(6pm) and once inside, we were the only party for at least a half hour. So, we were bit concerned with the lack of customers, but the food was very good. Reasonable prices, reasonable portions and we were served complimentary bruschetta as we waited for our meal. Very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. It was a bit odd to be the only patrons, but we got good service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was unexpected pleasure. The service was great and the food was better. A must for anyone who enjoys Italian food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Fiore also viewed

 
Norwich, Mystic Country
 

Been to Bella Fiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Fiore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.