We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Spa in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa at Norwich Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Spa at Norwich Inn to your Saves list
The Spa at Norwich Inn
3.5 of 5 Spa   |   607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best Spa in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Going to this spa is far superior to going to a regular day spa. The amenities allow for a true spa setting. They offer exercise classes, a small gym, a relaxation quiet room, a salon, a boutique, a pool, a sun deck, a fire placed sitting area, a snack bar, many treatment rooms, and separate locker rooms for men and women with steam room, sauna and hot tub. All of the aforementioned is in the spa area which does not include the hotel, villas, golf or dining areas. The treatment menu is vast. The staff is very courteous. This is my favorite place in CT to get a massage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    68
    39
    38
    28
See reviews for
42
91
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Our stay at the Spa at Norwich Inn exceeded our expectations. We were warmly welcomed by the young lady that checked us into our room. When I asked if they had tooth brushes, she kindly told me she would have them sent up while we collected our luggage.On arriving to our room, a kind man was delivering the tooth brushes along with closing the drapes and explaining a bit about the hotel. He then proceeded to notice there were four of us and after asking if we would prefer feather pillows, hurried out to gather more towels, robes and toiletries to accommodate us. He thought of everything before we even had to. That was a very sincere gesture and it was obvious he enjoyed working at the Inn. We all had a great night sleep in our quiet room with comfortable beds. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this beautiful historic inn.

Room Tip: Be aware that gratuities "resort fees" are added to your bill for each night's stay. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed two days/one night with a girlfriend using a TravelZoo certificate. The place is really nice--beautiful grounds, nice rooms and a great spa. But my bill had to be done three time to get it right, so be sure to double check yours. Note that the gratuity is automatically added! The specials that include lunch are the best deal--it's a really nice lunch! Also, when making a reservation, the people on the phone tend to be very businesslike--not warm and friendly at all, so that could be improved.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We reserved and stayed at two rooms at the Inn this past weekend. Both were seriously dated and in need of major updating. The front doors were rusting, the carpet ancient, the bed flannel blankets were old, scratchy and appeared to have not been changed for our arrival. The rooms had a strong mildew smell. The tub area was full of rusted spots and old, stained shower curtains. One of our rooms had a used, open bar of soap in the bathroom soap dish. The other had 6 cigarette butts lined up on the deck rail that our kids ceremoniously found! Although non-smoking was requested, one of the rooms smelled of cigarette smoke. The lobby/common area looked equally as old, dated and grimy. The Inn is in a great location and the main building and "villas" have lots of potential but until this place receives a major update that's all it is; Potential without the substance to back it up.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn last December 29 through January 1, 2013. It was the perfect place for a babymoon. If there is one word I could use to describe the Inn, it would be COZY! We didn't leave the Inn all weekend and walked around in robes most of the time.

We had such a great experience. I don't know if there is anything I would ask for differently. The comfort, food and spa services were amazing. It was great to see the whole place decked out in holiday decorations. The Inn had a New Years celebration with champagne in the lobby (I didn't go- we were falling asleep in the room at 10). I definitely recommend this!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we booked last minute on Expedia; a villa for 2 with king bed, kitchen, bath, etc. These "villas" are rental or time share properties detached from the Inn but within walking distance. They are dated, our first room was musty, door jams rusty and carpets stained. While we were inspecting the room a realtor entered who was getting ready to show the place. This was not acceptable so the front dest gave us another villa closer to the main building and in better shape. This villa had a view of the golf course and was in better shape but still had stains on the carpet, a bathroom door that was so stuck it was hard to get in and out of. the furniture looks like it was from the late 80's or 90's and could use some sprucing up. The bed was big, high and comfortable for an overnight and we did get a good night's sleep in this quiet location. for a nominal fee you have daily use of spa, pool, fitness room which was worth it!!!!! i didn't have any treatments; there was a huge wedding that night and we did book our room last minute but the services are very expensive $65 for a manicure without tip. but everyone looks happy to be there and the grounds are lovely. the wedding looked beautiful and the festivities did not interfere with our stay. The Staff is EXCELLENT and can not make you more comfortable. they are on top of everything. there is a list of activities that you can option and afternoon tea and scones, wine tasting, nutrition classes are free but you have to pay for exercise classes

Room Tip: If you book a villa, try to get one closer to the main building. We were in the 400's. Ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The spa at Norwich Inn has the most relaxing atmosphere and friendliest helpful staff. I've never been disappointed with the spa, the staff or the restaurant. I live in the area and visit the spa as often as possible. My husband purchases gift cards to give me at the holidays and it is my favorite present!!

Prices for the spa and treatments are in line with the service you receive.

There have been recent renovations to the indoor pool area and they've added more outdoor sitting areas with chaise lounges and umbrellaed tables and chairs. You can enjoy the sun even on a cooler day.

Because I live nearby, I've never needed to stay overnight so I have no knowledge of the accomodations, and although the place is "old" I can't imagine that they'd not keep it up to date.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spa at Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa at Norwich Inn

Address: 607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa at Norwich Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote the ultimate in relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Spa at Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa At Norwich Hotel Norwich
Spa Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spa at Norwich Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.