We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norwich Inn--stay home instead” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa at Norwich Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Spa at Norwich Inn to your Saves list
The Spa at Norwich Inn
3.5 of 5 Spa   |   607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Norwich Inn--stay home instead”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My sister-in-law and I looked forward to spending a weekend together, relaxing at this hotel and spa. We booked a 4 night stay, and ended up canceling our last 2 days. We would have left after one night, but stayed because we had spa treatments booked. The spa is actually, wonderful--great practitioners, very experienced. But, the hotel is areal dump.

We stayed what they call a villa, which are sprawled all over the acreage, some so far from the spa, that you have to drive back and forth. Our first night, we had to change rooms twice.
In the first villa suite, the tv remotes didn't work, the safe didn't work, and there were no bathrobes, despite what the website said. A workman had to come in several times, to fix everything, and stayed for at least an hour. Then, later, when we tried to make a fire in the fireplace, the rooms filled up with smoke, despite a printed card on the mantel that explicitly stated "the flue has been opened for your convenience, so feel free to make a fire". Smoke alarms went off, but no one came to help until we called the front desk. The man who came reproached my sister-in-law for lighting a fire without knowing how. Then he moved all our things to another room nearby, but, that room was not good for us because we needed (and specified) a suite where the doors closed between the living and sleeping areas. Then we were moved to a third room, very far away from the spa, where there were doors, but everything was dirty--the upholstery on the living room furniture, the rugs. The rug in front of the fireplace had actual holes in it, where cinders must have burned it. All the furniture looked worn, like from a second hand shop. We needed some food for breakfast and I called the front desk in the evening, to find out if the local supermarket was open late, since this was Easter. He told me emphatically that it would be open until 11. I drove the two miles, only to find that it was closed.

When we lit a fire in the third room, the flue didn't draw very well, so we had to open the door in order to create a better updraft--a sign that the chimney needs to be cleaned.

The second night, when returned to the room, it had not been cleaned by the housekeeping staff.
We called to ask for more wood, and were told we would be charged $7.50!

We had dinner one night in the much touted Kensington restaurant, and found the food to be adequate, but, definitely NOT spa food. Very few choices for those of us on diets. And, the waiter was terrible--intrusive, obnoxious, and, unresponsive.

The extremely nice and competent women in the spa told us they heard a lot of bad stories about the hotel, which is owned by Foxwoods resort.

Pick a different hotel and get a day pass for the spa!

Room Tip: I hear the rooms in the main house are better, but there are no suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orklinspindrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed overnight for a weekend family get-together and had such a wonderful, relaxing time. The inn is beautifully designed with many windows and little corners to sit and enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding grounds and the spa was very clean and absolutely refreshing. It is so rare to find a place like this that still maintains an atmosphere of elegance and class. I felt like we had stepped back into the dreamy romanticism of early 20th century America. I have enjoyed this type of place in Europe many times and wondered why it it is just so hard to find in this country. I guess it is just because people here don't appreciate the style, but if you do, you will be glad to find it is still alive here. The staff were incredibly friendly and professional as well. I highly recommend it and hope it doesn't change to become like every other crass Vegas-style techno blaring overpriced excuse for a good time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
188 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just spent the night at TS@NI and it was perfect. We stayed here because we had tickets to see Pink at the Mohegan Sun and also because we've heard so many amazing things about the inn.

We arrived prior to our room being available and were graciously welcomed by the reception staff. Tea and crumpets were being offered. The Spa facilities were made available to us while we waited for our room. Changing facilities included hot tub, sauna, showers, ect...Had time for a steam, a swim, and a drink and bite to eat in the lounge. Funny that everyone walks around the Inn in the comfy robes provided at the spa. There was a wine tasting happening just as we were leaving for our evening event.

Had a nice room in the main building. Beautifully decorated, comfortable beds and spacious bathroom.

We had massage appointments on the day of our departure. The staff got us checked in promptly and 80 minutes later we left there feeling so relaxed as our masseurs were top notch.

We can't wait to find another date to stay at the Inn. The price for an overnight and the amenities that are available are perfect. Only wish would be for them to have a car service/shuttle to Mohegan Sun rather than taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdsbiz98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just went for an overnight and spa getaway. They overcrowded the spa to such an extent on Saturday with day guests that the 8 (absurdly inadequate to begin with) beds in the relaxation room were constantly taken. Often with day guests wearing jeans and sneakers. We rearranged couches by the juice bar to have a spot to chat in our group of 4. The hot tub was similarly over capacity, which made it unappealing, especially when combined with the inopportune location next to the toilets, deep in the locker room.

Exercise classes (yoga Saturday and cardio Sunday am) were fine, but the $27.23 (?) charge is absurd given the product and what you're paying for everything else.

We chose to go to the (non-restful) casino nearby for dinner because the menu of the Inn's restaurant was so appealing. Further, the decor is out of date and stodgy, making it completely unappealing for our Saturday evening.

Room Tip: We had a duplex in the condos - good for a group, but sort of dorm living - the queen bed upstairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great place for a girls weekend. Enjoy the package deals that they offer at the Norwich Inn. 2 nights, breakfast and dinner. Then booked your treatment in the spa area. Towels, robes slippers provided. You never have to leave. Massages, indoor pool, fitness center, group classes, hair and nails. If you feel the need the Mohegan is down the road. Close to Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connectiuct.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the main lodge. They do offer large rooms in the condos close to the Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrumbullCTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a first-rate spa with a hotel complex. Great spot for a weekend or weekday of spa treatments and relaxation. Great service, great food and access to the Connecticut casinos. Bring your spouse and treat her to a day or two of R&R. Golf course near by makes it a good set up for husbands to get away while the ladies chill. Def. a place where women gather for bonding, bachelorette gatherings, etc. They provide a good value. I have been there may times over the years and highly recommend. A great value compared with spas closer to Manhattan for sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank channelhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been here many times with a recent one in February 2013 for my birthday. The location is great because it is near Mohegan Sun shopping and restaurants (and gaming of course). I have stayed in both the villas and in the main hotel and both are nice. The villas are great for 4 people to stay for a nice weekend. The small kitchens are nice and you can cook and eat there are eat in the main hotel. The service is excellent. They are happy to pick you up from your villa and take you to the main hotel for spa services, dinner, etc. The spa services are very good as well as the fitness classes.

Room Tip: closer to the main hotel if you are in a villa. also, if you go in the warmer months, a villa near o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
20.0 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
3.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Norwich
1.1 mi away
Cristata Inn
Cristata Inn
#4 of 4 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa at Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa at Norwich Inn

Address: 607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa at Norwich Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote the ultimate in relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Spa at Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa At Norwich Hotel Norwich
Spa Norwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing