We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spa at Norwich Inn

Save Saved
You added The Spa at Norwich Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spa at Norwich Inn
3.5 of 5 Spa   |   607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great first impression!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just spent the night at TS@NI and it was perfect. We stayed here because we had tickets to see Pink at the Mohegan Sun and also because we've heard so many amazing things about the inn.

We arrived prior to our room being available and were graciously welcomed by the reception staff. Tea and crumpets were being offered. The Spa facilities were made available to us while we waited for our room. Changing facilities included hot tub, sauna, showers, ect...Had time for a steam, a swim, and a drink and bite to eat in the lounge. Funny that everyone walks around the Inn in the comfy robes provided at the spa. There was a wine tasting happening just as we were leaving for our evening event.

Had a nice room in the main building. Beautifully decorated, comfortable beds and spacious bathroom.

We had massage appointments on the day of our departure. The staff got us checked in promptly and 80 minutes later we left there feeling so relaxed as our masseurs were top notch.

We can't wait to find another date to stay at the Inn. The price for an overnight and the amenities that are available are perfect. Only wish would be for them to have a car service/shuttle to Mohegan Sun rather than taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    67
    39
    37
    28
See reviews for
42
91
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just went for an overnight and spa getaway. They overcrowded the spa to such an extent on Saturday with day guests that the 8 (absurdly inadequate to begin with) beds in the relaxation room were constantly taken. Often with day guests wearing jeans and sneakers. We rearranged couches by the juice bar to have a spot to chat in our group of 4. The hot tub was similarly over capacity, which made it unappealing, especially when combined with the inopportune location next to the toilets, deep in the locker room.

Exercise classes (yoga Saturday and cardio Sunday am) were fine, but the $27.23 (?) charge is absurd given the product and what you're paying for everything else.

We chose to go to the (non-restful) casino nearby for dinner because the menu of the Inn's restaurant was so appealing. Further, the decor is out of date and stodgy, making it completely unappealing for our Saturday evening.

Room Tip: We had a duplex in the condos - good for a group, but sort of dorm living - the queen bed upstairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great place for a girls weekend. Enjoy the package deals that they offer at the Norwich Inn. 2 nights, breakfast and dinner. Then booked your treatment in the spa area. Towels, robes slippers provided. You never have to leave. Massages, indoor pool, fitness center, group classes, hair and nails. If you feel the need the Mohegan is down the road. Close to Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Connectiuct.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the main lodge. They do offer large rooms in the condos close to the Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a first-rate spa with a hotel complex. Great spot for a weekend or weekday of spa treatments and relaxation. Great service, great food and access to the Connecticut casinos. Bring your spouse and treat her to a day or two of R&R. Golf course near by makes it a good set up for husbands to get away while the ladies chill. Def. a place where women gather for bonding, bachelorette gatherings, etc. They provide a good value. I have been there may times over the years and highly recommend. A great value compared with spas closer to Manhattan for sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been here many times with a recent one in February 2013 for my birthday. The location is great because it is near Mohegan Sun shopping and restaurants (and gaming of course). I have stayed in both the villas and in the main hotel and both are nice. The villas are great for 4 people to stay for a nice weekend. The small kitchens are nice and you can cook and eat there are eat in the main hotel. The service is excellent. They are happy to pick you up from your villa and take you to the main hotel for spa services, dinner, etc. The spa services are very good as well as the fitness classes.

Room Tip: closer to the main hotel if you are in a villa. also, if you go in the warmer months, a villa near o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We've been to Norwich several times, most recently in early 2013. The Inn is lovely and the spa is very pleasant and worthwhile. The massages and other treatments are professional and restorative. The main restaurant, Kensington's, is not all you might hope; it tries too hard, with dishes that are more complex than successful, though not in every instance. The servers have a habit of saying "voila" when they remove the lid off your entree, which is almost comically straining for ...elegance? We preferred eating at the appealing bar Ascot's, with its simpler menu. The staff is extremely helpful and not intrusive in any way. We enjoy staying in the main building rather than a villa so that it's comfortable to go to and from the spa in the provided robes. The spa itself has a pool- usually empty unless there is a water exercise class- as well as a relaxation room, wet and dry saunas, whirlpool, a well-equipped fitness center and various places to just lounge around, including a smoothie/light meal spot. Fresh fruit and teas are available gratis in the pleasant and clean locker rooms. (One peeve- must they have a TV in the men's locker room, tuned to ESPN and always on? I go to a spa to get away from TV, etc.) The spa is full of large windows that mainly look out to peaceful, undeveloped woodland. When we've been, the clientele has included multiple small groups of women friends, but also a fair number of couples spanning the age range.The area does not have too much to offer, particularly if you are not interested in the two huge casinos nearby. Mystic and other shore towns are not too far and can be enjoyable day trips. But if your time is limited- a weekend, say- you may be quite happy to stay in the inn anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I traveled with a group of 6 women for a two night Spa Vacation. There are two wonderful restaurants on property. Menus list calories, carbs, protein, etc. in an effort to assist you in making healthy choices.
We opted to stay in the Duplex Villas rather than the Inn, since accommodations at the Inn were more geared towards two guests. The Villas are nice, very clean, well equipped, although the furniture was older and not as comfortable as could be. Considering we were in the room for a short time, the accommodations were fine for us.
The Spa itself is the best part of this place. It is professionally run with a host of treatments, all performed by trained and caring people. Overnight guests at the Inn/Villas pay $5.50 per person for parking, use of all spa facilities (pool, meditation room, hot tub, sauna, lockers, showers, complimentary teas, 1/2 hour wine tasting, afternoon tea and scones, etc.)
A bonus, if you like shopping, gambling and eating out, is Mohegan Sun Casino - located less than a mile from the hotel. There is also a weekend shuttle to Foxwoods Resort and Casino.
I would recommend this Inn for ladies looking to relax and pamper themselves in a wonderful atmosphere. There are also men's facilities on site and I saw many couples as well. Day passes and packages are also available.
This was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Spa at Norwich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa at Norwich Inn

Address: 607 West Thames Street, Norwich, CT 06360
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Norwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Norwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spa at Norwich Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spa at Norwich Inn is located on 42 country acres filled with perennial gardens and ponds. Oak trees, a reflecting pool and oversized deck compliment the atmosphere of the spa and promote the ultimate in relaxation. World class spa treatments are available from a wide assortment of services such a massages, body wraps and polishes, facials and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Spa at Norwich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spa At Norwich Hotel Norwich
Spa Norwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spa at Norwich Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.