We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Ok, but service needs work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burger Bar and Bistro

Burger Bar and Bistro
54-60 North Main St, Norwalk, CT 06854
203 853 2037
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 317 Restaurants in Norwalk
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Bad Kreuznach, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food Ok, but service needs work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The food is ok, bordering on good with a very extensive menu. The place was clean, but had a dirty feeling do to the aged decor. The service was too busy talking to themselves. Private conversations should be kept in the back. If you are looking for a good burger it is safe to go here, but would not use this place for a first date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Burger Bar & Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Make sure you are very hungry, the menu is extensive – we tried the Mac & Cheese (delicious but better eaten in colder weather); Mini Burgers (a choice of x3 for $8.00); and Disco Fries (which consist of skinny chips, with skins on, smothered in melted brie and white truffle oil). The milkshakes are enormous plus there is a large selection of beers available.

The music really does rock and staff, who couldn’t be more friendly. I can't wait to go back and try out the cocktails.

Behold my photo below - a trio of MINI burgers (Pulled Pork, The Rob and The Ultimate).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stopped by for a burger, had a double 7 oz, was delivered a 5-6 inch tall burger. Favorable, juicy, great beef flavor. Menu has surprises like lobster mac & cheese, lobster rolls, and a huge assortment of burgers. Full bar & wine list. Service was prompt and friendly. Highly recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Got the job done for lunch, but left a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently had a training class in Norwalk and needed to get a quick lunch to go. For having burger in their name I figured I could not go wrong. Burger was nothing special, a bit dry, and on the small side. It was a bit pricey, but so is everything in that neighborhood. Maybe if I am back there again I will give it another chance but was less than impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“just don't get the salad...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I know that this is a bit obvious since it is called the burger bar. Their burgers are divine as well as their dry rub wings and onion rings. It is an awesome place to watch a game since they have 4 tv screens, especially if you are sitting by the bar. My husband and I like to go and indulge in burgers while watching a playoff game. Gerat local norwalk spot!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burger Bar and Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Burger Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burger Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.