We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chinese take out in Norwalk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Gourmet

Shanghai Gourmet
111 New Canaan Ave, Norwalk, CT 06850-2615
203-847-8288
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 338 Restaurants in Norwalk
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best chinese take out in Norwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've tried several take-out places and our old reliable ones have become disappointments. Shanghai Gourmet is still on top when it comes to quality take-out. You can eat in as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food / Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really really nice place and outstanding food! Glad we decided to grab a late lunch here! Enjoyed the vegetable fried rice and the vegetable paad thai! Would definitely go again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Greesy...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was a stereotypical takeout chinese food place with overly greesy food. I was hoping to find a solid restaurant that I could call my go-to place, but was so disappointed. We decided to eat in the small restaurant, which was a mistake. I didn't have much expectations and it still didn't meet them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Asian Cuisine in Norwalk -top 10 anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Newcomer to Norwalk. Have tried all the Asian restaurants and this is far and away the best. Very few tables and small space but for take out it can't be beat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food! - Small Seating Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Shangai Gourmet is one of the hidden treasures in Norwalk. Within the last year I have taken friends to eat there for lunch and everyone has raved over the wonderful tasty food. This seems to be a family owned restaurant, mainly take-out, but has a few tables. Asian Fusion food, very good selection, especially the szechuah choices. Love this place for lunch with friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.