We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service superb!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern on 7

Tavern on 7
611 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851
203 642 3791
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 341 Restaurants in Norwalk
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service superb!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

While visiting with family in CT, we decided to stop into this unassuming restaurant(sports bar) for a quick bite to eat. We were very pleasantly surprised with our experience! My family members had been to this establishment before and the server remembered him by name and knew what he enjoyed on the menu. Impressive! We decided to try their specials that were recommended and both were delicious and prepared well. The Drunken Salmon and Mahi Mahi were cooked properly! I was very surprised at how tasty the food. One would never know that this restaurant would be this good based on the appearance of it being a sports bar. We absolutely loved this place. Overall, the service, food and experience was delightful! We will return without a doubt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pub food, parking can be tough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Good pub atmosphere. Menu does have some healthier chives which makes it nice for family. A good choice of beer and sports on TV. Our service was very good and we'll be back. Parking can be a bit tight, but it's worth while finding a spot and coming in for a meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

good pub food. a little noisy but not bad overall. good beer menu. sports tv present but not overpowering.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We eat here the evening we arrived in Norwalk, the food was very good, tasty and huge portions so sharing would be a good option. Service was polite and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our favorite place in Norwalk by far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Tavern on 7 has become our favorite restaurant in Norwalk. Staff is friendly. Food is phenomenal for what you think would be standard pub fare. The fried zucchini is awesome and unusual. The tavern brew burger and buffalo chicken wrap are great and the French fries are hand cut. They always have awesome specials too and tons of beer on tap. They have lots of seafood specials that are always fresh. The only complaint is that there is sometimes not enough parking. Love this place!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on 7 also viewed

 

Been to Tavern on 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern on 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.