We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   789 Connecticut Avenue, Norwalk, CT 06854   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebration Package
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Norwalk
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

They'll check you into occupied rooms, They'll call your room at 7am with a wakeup call when you don't have one scheduled. They will start construction at 6am! This is a dump.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the dirty, loud, pathetic hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    165
    91
    50
    25
See reviews for
168
65
41
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugarlad TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

this hotel surely doesnt deserve any stars whatsoever!
very dirty and old rooms, even construction workers stay there
staff is rude and unfriendly, service is substandard
breakfast buffet leaves everything to be desired
location is not bad but if youre into noisy freeways this might be a steal for you
i will try my best to avoid staying there in the future

  • Liked — short commute to work
  • Disliked — almost everything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

just stayed over this past weekend. technical staff noisy and inconsiderate of guests trying to rest. Yelling back and forth to each other in the hallways prior to 9am while servicing whatever is behind the wooden panels. When asked to please be more quiet we were told they " wouldn't be there long". General attitude of they could care less about guest comfort. This went on for our entire stay. This attitude was compounded by hotel staff working sun. a.m. behind check-in desk when complaint was mentioned. Hotel is noisy and it is not the housekeeping staff that is inconsiderate but the techinical maintenance workers!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conneticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

this is a very clean,comfitsble hotel. but upon arrival they did not have the room we reserved . They wanted to place us in another room. This is not the first time this has happened to my wife and I lately in other hotels. My big question is WHAT THEN IS A RESERVATION?, if they don't hold the room you resered.Finally after talking to three people at the desk they found the room we resered. The other bad thing happened at 4:00 in the morning being awoke by drunk people in the hallway,one girl crying and swearing and another screaming.

  • Liked — comfort, clean
  • Disliked — did not have room we reserved, very loud and rowdy guest woke us in hallway 4:00 am
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

My last review of this property was July 11, 2007. Since then, the hotel has not changed. Once again, the beds were dreamy and the service perfect. In my many travels, I thought this hotel had ice cream bars in the past. The front desk guy said he did not think so but instead just ordered a bowl of ice cream and had it sent to my room gratis! What a nice touch. After traveling to Seattle early in the week and a cross country redeye, I needed these comforts. My 7th floor (exectutive) room was spacious and clean. The morning breakfast was not available so they comped breakfast in the main dining room which was nice. I even made it to the pool this time. It was warm and clean. The free wireless was fast and easy to get onto. Overall, this property has maintained as a great place to rest your travel tired body.

  • Liked — cleanliness, beds, service
  • Disliked — no spa, some road noise from I-95
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

My bridesmaids brought me here for my Bachelorette Party. They had dinner and dancing planned for South Norwalk so booked a suite and a couple rooms at the DoubleTree. The rooms were very nice, lovely updated decor and extremely clean. I would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Bad smelling trees in courtyard.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I'll start off by saying we had a very bad experience at a DoubeTree in southern NJ back in June of 2007. So after I wrote a letter listing out my issues and receiving a call from a very nice gentleman in "corporate", I received 1 free complimentary night stay at any the family hotel. Sadly all of the New York City locations were booked, so we decided on Norwalk, CT.

WHAT A DIFFERENCE!

It's literally right off of I-95 (north) which was so convenient! Check-in was very easy and the girl at the front desk, Tonya I believe was her name, was very gracious and advised us that we could use the hotel van to take us into town so we wouldn't have to drive. She offered us a taxi service number as the vans would be booked for a return pick-up since they were 3 different wedding parties staying there. That was no big deal, just taking us was nice.

We came to meet our van later on that evening and it seemed that they were having troubles locating one to take us into town, but they quickly resolved the issue by having another gentleman take us in, very nice. The van dropped us off directly in front of our restaurant.

The bed = comfort! The amenities in the room & bathroom were standard and always come in handy. The black out shade to keep the sun out was great, it was pitch black in our room = nice way to sleep!

Check-out was a breeze too, especially since it was free! We asked to buy some cookies and the front desk sent us to the restaurant which wanted to send us back to the front desk (this was the ONLY issue we had, but it was still nothing, I debated even putting it in the review). They had the cookies, but unfortunately they were out of the tins. My husband took out his wallet to pay, but the front desk gave them to us for free since they didn't have a tin, how gracious.

Overall, this was a very nice experience and the hospitality of the front desk was night & day between here & the location in southern NJ.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk

Address: 789 Connecticut Avenue, Norwalk, CT 06854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#6 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your stay with our Norwalk hotel with a freshly baked DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy the convenience of our proximity to local attractions such as the Maritime Aquarium, Stepping Stones Museum and the Lockwood-Mathews Mansion. Our hotel in Norwalk, CT is just 30 minutes from Westchester County Airport. Be sure to plan ahead for the Norwalk Oyster Festival and book your stay for Labor Day weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree - Norwalk Hotel Norwalk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Norwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.