We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   474 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Getaway Package
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Norwalk
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Convenient but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

I am a regular visitor to the Courtyard for my visits to a commercial lending firm located nearby. The Courtyard took an old property and renovated it a couple of years ago, but the property is due for an upgrade. The workout facilities are small and some of the machines are in disrepair.

The air conditioning are old-style blower rather than central air. You don't select a temperature rather than putting the dial on a scale of blue-to-red. The hallways this summer smelled of mildew, though this was not an issue inside the rooms. Rooms are standard with plenty of room to stretch out on the sofa.

Staff have always been courteous, but they stopped the honor system of the evening bar. This is an okay place for a short trip in Norwalk, but its basics for the Courtyard brand.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — hallways smelled of mildew this summer
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
15
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

It was a basic hotel stay. The balcony overlooking the courtyard was nice since it could have easily been a view of the street or parking lot. The room was very average (Room 246). Checking in and out was easy but my room initially did not have a refrigerator as advertised on their website. I had to call the front desk to request one. After a few minutes, the refrigerator was delivered and placed under the sink. We needed it to store milk for our 2yr old son. If it wasn't for the free breakfast that was included in our rate, I think that I would have been really disappointed. The surrounding area was nice. There is a great fish and chips place down the street, just make a left when exiting the hotel. That was the highlight of our trip. Overall, our stay at the Courtyard Norwalk was decent. Nothing to brag about. I would try other hotels before staying here again.

  • Liked — View of Courtyard from room.
  • Disliked — Refrigerator wasn't in room at arrival.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2007

Our family of 5 are big users of the Marriott hotels, especially the Courtyards and the Residence Inns, so this suited us well. The hotel met our expectations - large lobby and lounge area, with a business area, including coffee, tea and cocoa self service. The room was clean and comfortable. It also had a balcony that faced into the courtyard - that was a nice unexpected little bonus. The internet service in the rooms worked well for us, because we alway bring a laptop with us. Our target destination was Compo Beach in Westport. After spending the day at the beach, some of us continued the evening with a dip in the indoor pool. The the reception area could have used more staff, because the lady there, while very pleasant and courteous, was very busy with guest inquiries, among other duties. There is a computer in the business area of the lobby which was always in use. As out of state visitors, we enjoyed the little side trips to Stew Leonard's and the Maritime Aquarium.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Courtyard Hotels are usually a safe bet. Not so with the Norwalk Courtyard. After checking in we needed to take the stairs to our third floor room because the elevator was broken. We opened our room door to find a not-yet cleaned room. Our next room was OK except for the loud and clunking a/c. The pool was dirty. It has an indoor pool which needed to be cleaned. There was diaper debris at the bottom. The next day, we left our room to see the sights and were gone for about 5-6 hr. The room had not been cleaned by the time we got back at 4pm. The hair drier was broken.
Good: The food at the Sunday brunch was good, but the kitchen had trouble keeping up with the demand. The location was convienent to all the major roads. Over all I was disappointed and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — elevator broken 3 days, loud a/c, slow housekeeping
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

Most of the time when I stay at chains along Northeast corridor highways, the kindest thing I can say is it wasn’t awful. I am far more positive about this spot-under $100/night, quiet, fridge in room, good internet, health club-quality gym. A bit off of I-95, easier to reach from the Wilbur Cross Parkway, in a business park that is quiet in the evening. In short, good value, excellent on the amenities important to me. Only minor complaint, 4 pack of decaf for the coffee maker, no regular. Well-satisfied from an easy to displease reviewer.

  • Liked — gym
  • Disliked — left me only decaf
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard in Norwalk for three nights. Very nice staff and pretty good hotel--wired Internet worked flawlessly and they delivered us a microwave upon requests. But the bed was HORRIBLE. The last couple nights I had to make a "bed" of pillows so there would be some sort of cushion, and while cleaning up before checking out, I realized why. The bed was nothing but a piece of foam!! No springs, no nothing. Just a big piece of foam. (See attached photos.) I'm done with Courtyard--this wasn't the first time with this problem.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

My wife and I spent five nights at the Courtyard Marriott in Norwalk while visiting family in the area. Very good experience all around: Hotel was clean as a whistle, good size room with very comfortable beds, excellent buffet breakfast, and extremely nice staff. Location is also very good, with quick, easy access to the Merrit Parway and I-95.

Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard, which is much quieter.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT

Address: 474 Main Ave, Norwalk, CT 06851
Location: United States > Connecticut > Norwalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Norwalk
#4 Business Hotel in Norwalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott - Norwalk, Ct Hotel Norwalk
Marriott Norwalk
Courtyard Norwalk Ct
Norwalk Courtyard
Norwalk Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott - Norwalk, CT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.