We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheffield Island Lighthouse and Nature Trail

Sheffield Island Lighthouse and Nature Trail
Sheffield Island Dock, 4 North Water Street, Norwalk, CT
+1 203-838-9444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Norwalk
Type: Lighthouses, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Norwalk Seaport Association has owned, restored and maintained Sheffield Island Lighthouse since 1986 and is the official U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service Friends group for the Norwalk Islands.Sheffield Island with its historic 145-year-old lighthouse, beaches and wildlife refuge offers abundant summer fun for visitors. From May through September, visitors can board the Seaport Association's 45-foot C.J. Toth catamaran for a cruise to the island then tour the lighthouse, observe wildlife in their natural habitat in the Stewart B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge, hunt for shells along the beach, dine on a picnic lunch, play on the lawns around the lighthouse and just have a good time. The lighthouse tower provides magnificent views of Long Island Sound and, on a clear day, of the New York City skyline. Join us for one of the most exciting tours that the Norwalk Harbor Islands area has to offer! During this unforgettable adventure tour of Sheffield Island and Lighthouse, you'll step directly from the boat into the past.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The lighthouse is furnished with period pieces, but you can't get to the light beacon. There are several pirate actors to greet you. Great for the kids. A short nature trail is available and you can walk the beach for a short distance. The boat ride there and back is probably the best part.

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sheffield Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My daughter and I had a great trip to Sheffield Island. The ferry boat was so nice, it looked new. The staff was wonderful.

The volunteers on the island did a great job and the light house is beautiful.

There are snacks available to buy at the boat, they offer water / soda and chips for sale at a very reasonable price (a healthy option would be welcomed) or pack your own lunch there are picnic tables at the island

Visited July 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great tour; friendly captain and crew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We took the kids for the boat ride and lighthouse visit.

The boat ride was pleasant and the crew gave an informative talk about the area including the other Norwalk Islands seen on the trip as well as two other lighthouses seen on the way to Sheffield Island.

The island has, of course, the lighthouse, and also a large tent area and picnic tables to have a meal or snack. But the mosquitos like to hang out in that tent, so be prepared. The tower was closed, but the main level of the lighthouse was open and the keeper gave a nice tour and information about the lighthouse.

On a clear day, you can see Long Island across the Sound, including the Northport power facility which, as they explain on the tour, is actually connected to a related facility that you pass by while on the boat.

There is a lot right by the dock, but there aren't that many parking spaces. We parked in a parking garage a short few blocks away, and the total bill for parking was $7.

In sum, the trip was pleasant (other than getting a little bitten up in the tent) and informative, and enjoyed by both kids and adults.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Beautiful Sheffield Isl. & Light House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed the details our Cpt. had about the bridges and other boats along the way to the light house. We also Loved the Oyster history in the area. When we arrived at the light house it was a clear day and we could see as far as we could see including Long Island.
The Light House history was really amazing especially the kitchen area. I appreciated the trail was made out of sea shells. I found it interesting that i have lived in CT for 3 years and the Light House was the only area I have ever seen so many alive and dead Horse Shoe Crab!!
What an amazing trip.
My only thought is that I wish it was longer~
Scott & Traci Bisson
Plainville, CT

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don miss this.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This trip was a hidden gem, we had a wonderful time. The boat ride was excellent, the young tour guide gave lots of new information. The guide at the lighthouse was just as good and engaging. I already recommend it to other friends.

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheffield Island Lighthouse and Nature Trail also viewed

 

Been to Sheffield Island Lighthouse and Nature Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheffield Island Lighthouse and Nature Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.