We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak + Almond

Oak + Almond
544 Main Avenue, Norwalk, CT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oak + Almond is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 342 Restaurants in Norwalk
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I've eaten here a few times but only for lunch. The salads are some of the best items on the menu, including a memorable heirloom tomato and corn, pork salad using local produce. I would definitely recommend the salads and appetizers. There is a lovely aroma from the oven/fire which is nice to sit by in colder weather.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rosmalen, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Ate here for second time. Conveniently located nect to my hotel. Atmosphere is not typical US restaurant which I like better. Nice winecard and menu. Quality is very good with nice international choices. Will come here again next time I visit Norwalk

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Menu promises more than the restaurant delivers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time to Oak and Almond since it was redone by the new owners.Overall the interior appearance was visually pleasing and open. Unfortunately tin ceiling, while interesting, created for a noisy interior when combined with the concrete floor.
Food looked interesting but the execution was lacking. Salmon was overdone and dry, pea soup, save the bits of bacon, was tasteless, steak was overdone and portion was small.
Got so loud we didn't stay for dessert.
Service was grumpy at best and prices were premium.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Burger, fries and flatbreads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We love to sit at the bar for late night snack after the movies. The burgers are great! The best in Ct!
Also a very nice Brunch menu.
The service is good and they make good suggestions if you don't know what you want

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Team Dinner Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Oak & Almond was the perfect spot for our company & client gathering. A hidden gem, who's biggest challenge must be the location right off Route 7, next to the DMV. Not to be missed - worth exploring! AJ and his team took excellent care of our team with lovely cocktails on the patio followed by a seated dinner for 60 team members. The Oak & Almond culinary team put together a customized menu to fit all taste buds, being mindful of our vegetarians and gluten sensitive team members. From start to finish, AJ and his team kept us all in trusting hands - and the salmon was delicious!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak + Almond also viewed

 

Been to Oak + Almond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak + Almond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.