We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Sharing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Spread

The Spread
70 North Main Street, Norwalk, CT 06854
2039391111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 342 Restaurants in Norwalk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place for Sharing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Food was great and with great weather we were able to eat outside. Our waiter was attentive, high energy and very friendly. The food was imaginative and the 8 or 10 plates we tried were all very good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Love sitting at the high tops in the bar area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First visit- Mother's Day 2014. Food was great. Service started out ok, but then all collapsed from the amount of people in the restaurant, but we wanted to go back as the food was so good and give it another chance. Went back with my son last night. Sat at a high top table to watch the World Cup. Atmosphere was great. Our server was awesome and there when we needed but not over smothery. We had salted cod, pork belly with honey and Brussels sprouts with feta and honey. All were really good and really filling we still had our entrees to tackle. Son got the rib eye special and I. the roasted chicken with polenta. Both dishes were incredibly tasty, cooked to perfection and visually stellar. I could not eat my entire portion and it sits waiting for me in my fridge for lunch and I cannot wait! Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fun, Quirky and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have a been to The Spread a couple of times, the food is almost always very delicious and the service has always been great. The restaurant itself has a very open design and it is really nice to sit indoors when they have the garage doors open to enjoy the weather.

The food at The Spread is really great. This visit, we split the endive salad, which was sliced finely with granny smith apples, almonds and feta, the Salted Cod Fritters, which were piping hot and crispy on the outside but light and airy on the inside, the burger which was good and cooked properly and the "Brutella" which is their take on a Nutella creme brulee which is absolutely fantastic.

One the best qualities of The Spread is fun atmosphere it sets for the guests, with the large couches at bar, the completely mismatched plates / flatware / glassware that are place at the table and great decor.

As other reviews have noted, it is a tad expensive but well worth the money spent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Imaginative menu, average value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Visited with a group, service was good, some of the dishes (bolognese ) were so so. The prices are high for the portion served. I don't think I'll go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lil expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I didn't understand why the only way you could get happy hour was to physically sit at the bar and then even with happy hour prices the portions still weren't impressive. I know Tapas is small plates, but traditionally is more than a bite. It was OK once, but I believe the area has other places that would have been more worthy of the short amount of time I had there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spread also viewed

 

Been to The Spread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.